Jeep Jeep Jeep!


Advertisement
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am still in the Baton Rouge area. It took all week for me to find a generator repairman and get him out to my location. He looked at it on Friday and said the carburator is bad. Good news is he has one in his shop and should have it running Monday. And, he told me to make a list of things that need work and he will fix them for me. Yes, sadly, there is a list. The auxillary batteries don't seem to be charging properly and my roof leaks. I thought I had the roof taken care of but I suppose the other guy missed a spot. It seems to be leaking along the seam where the roof and the gutter meet. Hopefully a little roof goo will fix it.

It has been another busy week as James and I have been running all over BR gathering things that I need for the trip. We researched pulling the Camry on a trailer vs a dolly. Seems that a trailer big enough for the job would weigh 1,700 pounds and have pull out ramps weighing about 75 pounds each. The ramps were a real problem for me because I couldn't handle them. So I decided on the dolly with hydraulic brakes. For those interested it would cost about $1,700 with that braking system. James and I had one all lined up for Wednesday but decided to look at Jeeps on the way home.

Yeah, as you might have guessed from the title, I bought a Jeep. And it is beautiful!!!! And fun to drive. It is a 2008 with a 6 speed manual transmission 2 door soft top. I will post pictures later. The jeep made sense because it can be pulled without damaging the transmission. Jeeps have a true neutral position in the transmission which disengages all four wheels. The one kink in my new plan was that you cannot pull them long distances on a dolly so I had to get a tow bar rig. That meant ordering parts so it will be Thursday before all that is installed. The tow bar will actually fold up under the RV so I won't have to lift any heavy parts. And I am having a brake buddy installed as well. This is tied into the RVs brakes and senses when its brakes are being applied. Then a lever inside the jeep will apply pressure to the jeep's brakes.

Sadly, a rock hit my Jeep's windshield on the way home from the dealership. By the time I got up the next morning the crack had already arced across the windshield. I suppose I will go ahead and get a new one installed. Then on Friday, someone backed into my front bumper in a parking lot and dented it in two places. The jerks didn't leave a note or anything. I was furious about that. There are evidently lots of irresponsible people in this world.

Wifi has been challenging at the RV park. Lately it has been popping out every couple of minutes. If anyone has any suggestions about dealing with that on the road please let me know.

That's all the news for now.

D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb