Up and Down all day again. 50 mi, 3600’


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky
May 30th 2018
Published: May 31st 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Doug Franklin’s $48 homebuilt.Doug Franklin’s $48 homebuilt.Doug Franklin’s $48 homebuilt.

It’s very cozy inside.
Today was very similar to the last several.

Up and down all day.

I passed Hollow after Hollow with small convenience stores every ten miles or so. A convenience store here has a variety of groceries, possibly a fast food diner with some clothing items and possibly a hardware section. It also seems to be a local gathering place.

The small settlements I passed are probably not found on most maps. Carrie, Emmalend, Dwarf, Combs, Chavies and finally Buckhorn where I am now.

There are no Hotels or Motels anywhere on this route. Nor is there beer or any alcohol since most of Kentucky seems to be dry!
No problems with cigarettes here though. It seems the majority of folks smoke.

Tonight I am in a nice little campsite next to a home built RV. The proud owner Doug Franklin proudly says it cost him $48 total.

He is a fantastic fellow. An eight year Army Vet. His dad served and he has two boys serving now! He has lived within 10 miles of this campground all of his life. As soon as he saw me putting up the tent he offered his services. I borrowed his hammer to put in my tent stakes. He then gave me a cold drink, and asked me to dinner. Chili Dogs and cabbage. Excellent!

He makes a living harvesting Ginseng on the 280 acres his great great grandad homesteaded.

Just in case it rains tonight he brought over a tarp to put over my tent as an extra precaution.

One thing I have learned on this trip over and over again. Some Americans may be very different than I am, but it would be very unwise to judge. Doug talks different and has a markedly different lifestyle, but he never for one moment judged this city boy and I certainly won’t judge him.

He loves Kentucky and is very proud of his family!

See you tomorrow.







Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Robert and Susan are on their way East.Robert and Susan are on their way East.
Robert and Susan are on their way East.

They do part of it every summer. This is their fourth year


31st May 2018

We live in a beautiful world
You get to experience what most people don’t! This beautiful Earth CLOSE-UP and the understanding that there are a lot of good people in this world! Lucky you!
1st June 2018

Thanks for your positive comments
Yes there are some fantastic people. I’m glad I get to meet some of them.

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0659s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb