Day Twenty- July 3, 2010 Tampa to Montreal Tour


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The big day has arrived, and the 75th Anniversary Jubilee Car Event has begun. This is one of the finest collections of cars we have seen, including the Concourse D'Elegance Shows we have visited. And it is in a great venue, the Kentucky State Fairground Expo Center, known as "Freedom Hall". As an indoor arena, no rain, dust, sun, or any other natural element interferes with your show. In fact, the air conditioning is so cold we have to wear sweaters in summertime.

As a side note, this is not my first time in this arena. In 1976, I rode my American Saddlebred Horse to a National Championship win in Freedom Hall! I believe this was the proudest day in my, and especially my mother's life. Mom (Sue Lynagh Grim) was a horseback rider from childhood, and she taught me everything I knew. When a trainer by the name of Jimmie Glidewell decided to hire me at the age of 14 years old to exercise the horses at the Tampa Yacht Club Stables, he saw me grow as a competitor, and made sure that I could ride some of the best horses he had available when it came my turn to enter the show ring. That year I gained my 15 minutes of fame by winning the world championship for Saddle Seat Equitation. I wish mom was alive today to reminisce with me here in Louisville.

Back to the car show! There are over 800 cars at the event. They are judging many, but others are here for display, as are we. I believe the oldest one here is 1903, and they have show cars representing every year forward. I would be surprised to find out there was a car manufacturer not represented at this event.

Big thanks to Joe Gagliano, Chairman of the AACA Planning Subcommittee, for squeezing us in at the last minute to participate in this show.

We end the day with a quick visit to Churchill Downs, home of the famous Kentucky Derby. I even come away with an authentic "Derby Hat".

Once we return to the hotel we start to pack, and have dinner in the bar, where they serve the most delicious "Kentucky Hot Brown Sandwich". This is an open faced sandwich with thin sliced turkey, tomatoes, cheddar cheese mornay sauce and bacon. Yummmy!

There are so many photos from the car show that you have to pay close attention to hit the "next page" to see all of them on this blog.



Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

A Jones Car, owend by Mr. Jones (no relation)A Jones Car, owend by Mr. Jones (no relation)
A Jones Car, owend by Mr. Jones (no relation)

Only 3,000 made, 6 left in existence, and this Mr. Jones owns 4 of those 6!


16th July 2010

Thank you for checking out my blog!
I made some considerable updates to the blog since you had the first look at it. My computer crashed, so I had to update the stories and pictures for each day. If you have the time and inclination, check it out again! Cheers!

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb