Alleghenies to Bluegrass Country 53mi/3000’


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Danville
June 3rd 2018
Published: June 3rd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Untitled

Today was a big change from the last week. The geography has changed from the Allegheny Mountains to the rolling hills of central Kentucky. The big climbs and steep downhills were non-existent today. Although the Garmin says I climbed over 3000’, it was far different than the leg busting climbs of the last several days.

Today was a leisurely trip through the bluegrass pastures of cattle and horse country.

The most surprising and fun part of the day was when I suddenly passed a deserted home with a sign signaling cyclists to stop for free water.

I did stop, and took several pictures of the wonderful bicycle Oasis. There was a chest full of a variety of drinks and another with lots of goodies including home made treats, donuts, nutritious bars and many other items.

There was also an outhouse and shower available. Also a hammock and some chairs.

What a wonderful surprise. As I proceeded down the road I saw a pleasant lady sitting on the porch and asked her about it. She told me she just loved helping out the Bicyclists.

What a wonderful person to do that at considerable expense I’m sure.
Bicycle OasisBicycle OasisBicycle Oasis

This was along the route. They had an outhouse, a shower and food and drinks. The owner had a home about a half mile down the road.


Thank you from us all.

I was anticipating a final relaxing 10 miles to Harrodsburg when I suddenly arrived at a CLOSED BRIDGE at the Dix River.

Darn! Now what?

I was really perplexed. After consulting Google Maps, I realized I would have to backtrack many miles before finding another way across the river. Once you deviate from the Adventure Cycling Maps, you are on your own.

Fortunately we now have the option of Google Maps which routed me way south of course to the City of Danville Kentucky.

Danville is a fair sized city and seems to have all the amenities of a medium sized American city.

At that point I was at 53 miles and really unsure of my options. I knew there had to be several ways to continue toward tomorrow’s destination so I decided to stop for the day.

I am currently in a Comfort Suites after just enjoying a Mexican dinner.
The weather forecast predicts several days of mild dry weather.

Life is good!

Tomorrow Bardstown or Bust!



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



4th June 2018

Easy Rider
Glad you had a great easier rain-free day! What nice people to prepare a bicycle stop! An OASIS! Ride On!

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 34; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb