A Real Hotel Room 24 miles, 1600 feet.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kentucky » Berea
June 2nd 2018
Published: June 2nd 2018
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Additional maps: Untitled

I had a quick ride to Berea today. No big mountains, NO RAIN, and only a few barking dogs. The road was very crowded and narrow. I’m glad it’s over!

I have checked into the Historic Boone Tavern Hotel with a nice but very small room. This is a place I would have taken for granted or even grumbled about a month ago, but today it is heaven!

It is amazing how my life has been modified by my environment.

When one has spent a career flying from one big city to another, staying in four star hotels and having unlimited food choices, this kind of world was hard to even imagine.

I thought people camped because they consider it fun. I have camped because there have been no other choices.

I am very grateful that so many churches along the way have been so wonderful about opening up to bicyclists!

Even in Berea, a city of 15,000, Starbucks doesn’t exist. One has to drive 12 miles to Richmond to find one. Two days ago I was excited to see a McDonalds and get an Egg McMuffin. A few days before, I reveled over a Blizzard at DQ.

When I see a place along the road that sells food items I stop. My diet hasn’t been a very good one because there are few choices; Pizza, Fried Chicken, French Fries, biscuits and gravy...you get the point. Fried food or packaged Sweet Rolls. That’s the choice!

The point is, I am adapting from a lifestyle of unlimited choices to one of almost no choices. When one is on a bike ride like this, you modify your lifestyle.

One can’t jump in the car and drive to the next city with a motel. That’s why the bike is so compelling. One is immersed in their environment at the moment!

I’m OK with that! What the heck! Why not?

By the time I will have completed this adventure I will have a much greater appreciation for the different regions of this country and the life they lead. That was one of the reasons I wanted to do this.

This area of the country is vastly different than the one I’m from, and I’m sure that realization will continue as I continue this adventure.

Tomorrow I will explore Berea and then on Sunday I’m back on the bike.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

I had breakfast here.I had breakfast here.
I had breakfast here.

Coffee and Packaged Banana Bread.
Historic Boone Tavern and HotelHistoric Boone Tavern and Hotel
Historic Boone Tavern and Hotel

This is where I am staying tonight. Built in the late 1800’s as a place for visitors to Berea College. Actually owned by the College.


2nd June 2018
Historic Boone Tavern and Hotel

love your narrative and pictures
You are so brave to embrace such an adventure, I envy you. I love the narrative of what you're seeing and the people you encounter. This part of the country is different from SoCal, but so very friendly. Stay safe!
2nd June 2018

Can't you turn on the radar and vector around the thunderstorms? Great pictures by the way! Ski

Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0746s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb