1 Day Out


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas
January 14th 2009
Published: January 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Study Abroad GroupStudy Abroad GroupStudy Abroad Group

The first time I went to Brussels I was accompanied by all these great people. This time will be much different.
Tomorrow I will set out on my long journey for Brussels, Belgium. After a three and a half hour drive to Denver, a three hour flight to Philadelphia, a two hour lay-over, and a seven and a half hour flight across the Atlantic, I will arrive in Brussels for the internship of my dreams. For the next three months, I have been given the incredible opportunity to intern for the U.S. State Department at the U.S. Mission to the EU!

This will actually be my second trip to Brussels. When I visited Brussels for the first time in the summer of 2007 on a study abroad trip, I had no idea I would be going back so soon! I had always planned on doing an internship the last semester of my undergrad, but never expected to land one in Europe, let alone Brussels, the "Capital of Europe"! When I visited the first time, I absolutely fell in love and decided some day I wanted to work for the U.S. State Department in Brussels. Having the chance to work there before I even graduate is simply unreal.

There is one downfall to going to Brussels tomorrow. I will not get
Grand PlaceGrand PlaceGrand Place

In Brussels' grand square.
to go to D.C. next week to watch President-Elect Barack Obama's Inauguration, something I have worked incredibly hard to see happen for the past 2 years. Though I won't be able to be there, I am thrilled that I'll actually be getting to serve our new President abroad. Oddly enough, his first day in office is the first day of my internship! Together, we'll both be starting our new commitment to serve our country, though I'm sure with his will come many more headaches and gray hair. Regardless, the thought of getting to serve our new President and our country abroad made it easier for me to give up my Inauguration tickets to two very well-deserving friends.

Since I must finish packing and cleaning up the mess I've made at my parents' house over the last month, this will be it for my first entry. Thank you for stopping by my travel blog and I promise I will post pictures and entries as often as possible! Please email me, skype with me and stay in touch in anyway!

Bien à toi,

Clarissa




Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Chez LeonChez Leon
Chez Leon

Eating at a famous restaurant in Brussels.
Brussels, Summer 07Brussels, Summer 07
Brussels, Summer 07

Brussels nightlife.


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb