Here and There


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas
August 27th 2020
Published: September 6th 2020
Edit Blog Post

KCKCKC

My current hometown
The year is 2020.

Its crazy and messed up and just altogether not normal. It started out so promising, but soon showed us who is boss. Now we sit and wait. We wait for borders to re-open, restaurants to serve us inside again, and for these challenges to subside. I think we are going to be waiting quite a while on this...so it seems like a good time to examine how I ended up here-with a new travel advisor certificate but nowhere to go. Thankfully, I know it isn't always going to be like this.




So, hey, its CorrineMarie

Married mom of 4 raising our family in a sort of small midwestern town suburb--but my heart is really in the big city lights.

Bookworm, baker, wine aficionado and world traveler wannabe.





Every chance we get we pack our bags and head to another place whether its near or far.

I love to explore--monuments, libraries, museums, national parks, mountains, cities, cuisine, cultures. It's an amazing world out there!

A little research will take you a long way. In every sense of the word. I love searching out the hidden gems,
Our World's ViewOur World's ViewOur World's View

This view alone makes our part of the world spectacular. We love and enjoy every minute here.
the local flavor, the history that defines...and the very essence of the culture. I appreciate the little pieces of knowledge that come from discovering someplace new with an open mind and open ears. I want to immerse myself into the customs and the traditions of wherever I am. I feel like I take part of each place home with me. I feel like I am part of every place I've been. I have seen beauty and I've seen darkness. I have tolerance. I have respect. I have appreciation for lifestyles that are not like mine. That is the beauty of the world we travel.

Traveling - it leaves you speechless then turns you into a storyteller. --Ibn Battuta


I have a lot to say...I think I chose to start today because I need to start looking forward again. Look at the flowers. Play in the sand. Come get away with me and see the world.




Today I want to share a small view of my city with you. It's a quiet small town in northeast Kansas that has given us great space and lots of villagers to raise our kids. We cherish this piece of the world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Power & Light DistrictPower & Light District
Power & Light District

Downtown KCMO is a new world of fun and entertainment since P&L came in. Pre-pandemic it was a gathering place for sports rallies, concerts and any other reason KC could find a reason to come together.
KC SCOUTKC SCOUT
KC SCOUT

Watching over KC on a cool fall day
First Friday from OnBroadwayFirst Friday from OnBroadway
First Friday from OnBroadway

It's a great way to kick off First Friday weekends in the Crossroads District. There are so many art galleries and artist's shops you can really spend all weekend.
Beautiful Union StationBeautiful Union Station
Beautiful Union Station

On July 4th, the KC Symphony plays on a stage outside Union Station. All you need is your blanket, snacks & family for a fun night on the hill in front of the WWI monument.
Union StationUnion Station
Union Station

Ready for Super Bowl LIV parade!
R O Y A L SR O Y A L S
R O Y A L S

1985 World Champions 2015 World Champions
A night at the KA night at the K
A night at the K

We love to watch the Royals play ball!
Westport, MOWestport, MO
Westport, MO

Just south of downtown there is a great little art and foodie district. The Plaza Art fair is one of my favorite times of the year.
Aixois KCAixois KC
Aixois KC

a Classic French bistro experience in the middle of the US. We are the Paris of the Plains so I guess its the perfect place to spend an afternoon.
Visit the City MarketVisit the City Market
Visit the City Market

in the River Market District...its a fantastic place!
Spices at the City Market!Spices at the City Market!
Spices at the City Market!

A happy place for me!


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0463s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb