Just a lazy day in Newton.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Newton
June 27th 2018
Published: June 27th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Bernard Warkentin HomeBernard Warkentin HomeBernard Warkentin Home

Very prominent Mennonite Citizen.In the 1860’s he was the leader of over 5000 Mennonite’s to the Kansas known as the Mennonite Migration
Today was a scheduled day off and I was glad to have it.

Once again a little rest allowed the magic of healing to happen and I feel completely rested and anxious to be on my way!

I did do a very easy ride a couple of miles to see the Newton Bike Shop, which was made famous in the Netflix movie, “Inspire to Ride”. ( If you want to see some really crazy people ride the Trans America Bicycle Race this would be a good movie to watch.)

Newton Bike Shop has really capitalized on that reputation and the walls are covered with signed Jerseys of every winner since the race began several years ago.

(Incidentally, the race is going on right now and Bruce and I saw several of them go by last week.)

After visiting the Bike Shop, I went to the Newton Historical Museum which was housed in the Old Carnegie Library.

My favorite exhibit was a piano that was autographed by over 200 GI’s passing through Newton on the troop trains during World War 2.

The piano was located in the Newton USO and the records say that over 194,000 soldiers and sailors visited the USO during the war.

The train is still active and I saw a train carrying two Boeing fuselages sitting at the station.

Hmmm, Who knew?

Tomorrow I’m off bright and early.

I can’t wait to get started.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Newton bike shopNewton bike shop
Newton bike shop

Made famous in the Netflix Movie: “Inspire to Ride”
Newton Historical SocietyNewton Historical Society
Newton Historical Society

Originally a Library built by Andrew Carnegie


27th June 2018

Fun to read about your rest day!
Never knew about the Mennonites! Do they still have a huge presence in this area?
27th June 2018

Lots of Mennonites here
I saw lots of Mennonite Churches coming in to town. The curator of the Historical Society was also one. She said there are a lot of them around Newton. The early ones came from Ukraine. They are much like Amish but not as strict.
27th June 2018
Piano signed by GI’s in WW2

hi
Hi Bob I'm following you and enjoying your ride. I never knew there was the Trans Am Bike Ride or race. It's great to see America from the roads less traveled. I just played in a 2 day ladies golf tourney at Big Canyon CC. We didn't take home any crystal but did win some $$. It was a beautiful event and great tee prizes. I'm getting sample T/T golf balls sent to me shortly. Keep cruising! Terry
27th June 2018
Piano signed by GI’s in WW2

Ahh Golf
Sounds like fun! I appreciate hearing from you and your help on the TT. Best, Bob

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb