Rest then Limon, Co to Junction City, KS


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Junction City
September 6th 2015
Published: September 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


09-06-15 and 09-07-15



Sunday is a day of rest and so it was for me. I needed a break from driving and so did Oscar so we stayed at the campground for an extra night. The hosts serve breakfast, for a fee, every day in the summer so I decided to take advantage and support the cause. It was sausage and pancakes, coffee and juice and turned out to be delicious.

I put out the awning and strapped it down well and sat in the shade and read my book for the first time in 2 weeks. Didn't realize I had been that busy that there was no time to sit, too many fun things to do. The campground cleared out and was quiet, the birds were singing and Oscar was laying flat out, half in the sun, half in the shade. I had a little nap.

Then it was time to explore a little. I had heard that the town had a wonderful train museum and it opened at 2 so off to town I went in search of this treasure. The woman in the museum was happy to have a visitor and proceeded to tell me the story of the place. It is housed in the actual train depot and the town of Limon was the hub of the rail lines in the mid to late 1800's. Several roads come together here too so it was a bustling little town in it's day.

She took me into the back room to show me the Indian artifacts that had been collected by the local druggist, then donated to the museum. They had a wonderful display and many priceless items, mostly pottery.There was even a model trail setup that depicted the traffic of that time.

Outside there were train cars from that era that you could explore. Pictures

Back at the camper it was Oscar's dinner time and more relaxing to do. Later I started packing up to get ready for an early departure in the morning.

Tuesday morning had a beautiful sunrise that I saw from my bed. I was eager to get going so I got up and started the day. We left the campground by 9 and headed east on 70. At the top of the first rise I looked in my rear view mirror and got the last glimpse of the shinning mountains. Oh how I hate to leave them behind.

The sun was shinning and the temperature was rising quickly, I kept the windows open for a while but then had to switch on the air. The weather forecast was for thunderstorms later in the day so I kept the pedal to the metal hoping to get to my next destination before they tore loose. The terrain was typical high plains, still at over 4,000 ft. but greener and full of crops and cattle.

As we left Colorado and entered Kansas it was like a defining line in the landscape. It went from rolling hills to flat with corn fields and huge farm buildings. There were a few fields of sun flowers, they looked so happy.

The sky was blue with few clouds as I found my stop for the night in Junction City, Kansas. The campground host said he was glad I arrived because strong storms were predicted this afternoon and tonight. I asked if they had a storm shelter and yes they did. That was scary. I know the mid-west has tornadoes but to actually have a shelter made it very real. The shelter is the car wash next door, just drive your rig over there, park and get inside with the dog. It is rated to withstand 300 mph winds. The sirens will go off and he would come get me. I didn't know whether to be grateful or get in the camper and keep driving but the storms were heading east and would catch up to me sooner or later. So I chose grateful and settled into my spot, took Oscar for a walk and all h___ broke loose. The storm was on us before I knew it with lightening, thunder and pouring rain. Oscar and I sat in bed with the camper rocking and the lightening flashing, he was shaking so hard, poor dog just can't stand storms. There were no sirens but there is another round coming later tonight.

There is cable tv here so I'm in heaven watching the weather channel first then HGTV and later a movie. Hope the storms are not so bad tonight.


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.293s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 20; qc: 100; dbt: 0.171s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb