Travel Forever Part 3 - Where I'll Start


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Kansas » Emporia
September 24th 2018
Published: September 24th 2018
Edit Blog Post

In the first article, I thought about the idea of hitting the road and randomly driving until I found a place. This was about an hour and a half ago.

I've since changed my mind.

I'm going to Cali!

There are a few reasons for this, most of them practical. One, it's California. The Red Hot Chili Peppers weren't wrong when they said: "Everybody's been there and I don't mean on vacation ". It seems like every person you meet has a Cali story, even if you know that half of them have never been. It's a place that's captured the imagination of Americans since the state was first settled. It represents opportunity and hope.

It's a great place to start a travel YouTube channel as well. When you think of American cities, two of the first three that pop in your head are New York and Los Angeles. I doubt New York has much in the way of RV parking. Southern California seems like a state made for RVs. If I were a gambling man (which I am) I would wager that Jerry Brown is the only governor that owns an RV.

Then the question becomes where to start. I really want to spend a good amount of time in Oregon, so I don't want to go there first. I'd rather save that for stop number three or four. I'm thinking that I'm gonna drive to San Diego and hang out there for a little while.

It's a beautiful city in its own little world. I can take day trips to Mexico. The city sits in an ideal spot. You've got the ocean, the desert, and state parks all within driving distance. There's also an excellent food scene to explore. It seems like it was built for a YouTube travel series to start at.

After looking up things to do in San Diego, I've determined that the best option is to spend a few weeks there, then head up to Los Angeles for a month or so. Ideally, I'd hit LA in time to spend an entire month at Halloween Horror Nights. After that, I can drive up to hang out in Northern Cali and Oregon before going up to Washington State. I think it's a good plan, especially considering that I want to spend more time in Wyoming than anywhere else. I'd hit Wyoming in January and hang out there for the Winter. I doubt there's anything better in America than Yellowstone in the Winter.

Maybe Charleston, SC, which I contend is the best city in the country, but I'm a biased kid from South Carolina, so take those words at face value.

Regardless, having a starting point is nice. It'll help motivate me to actually save money. I'm going to look up more things to do in that area and put them here. I find it helps me work towards a goal if I research and write it. I might make it a part four, or I might make it its own article.

Once something goes past a trilogy, it starts to fall apart. I'm looking at you, George Lucas.

Side note: The attached picture is another one I took in Yellowstone. I can't remember the name of it, but I remember that you have to walk a little to get to the observation deck. Considering the elevation that I'm not used to, it felt like forever, to be honest. It was well worth it though.

Gabe

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb