Driving home through Iowa


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Riverside
August 3rd 2014
Published: August 4th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After crossing the Mississippi, we took a slightly longer route across part of Iowa to stop in Riverside. I wanted to stop and see the Future Birthplace of Captain Kirk. We came in through Highway 22, going west. Highway 22 turns into 1st St. On our right, just as we entered town, we saw a few shops and pulled in. Between 41 1st St and 51 1st St was a lamp post with a banner that pointed the direction to see the marker. We almost felt like we were walking into someone's backyard as we stepped between the two buildings.

The monument to Captain Kirk is well done. It almost looks like a tombstone, actually, and is nice. It was worth the little detour to check out. We snapped some photos for me to send my dad because he is a bit of a Trekkie. He's really into the original series, so the pictures were good for him. I grew up with TNG, but this was still fun to go see.

From Riverside, we went back north to get back onto I-80. We stopped in Tiffin so I could see my cousin and let our kids run around together, and then we finally made it home. I always love road trips because we get to see so much, but they also wear me out! Our vacation was fun but a little exhausting.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 36; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb