Day VI


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Iowa » Manchester
August 6th 2010
Published: August 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast at WolfiesBreakfast at WolfiesBreakfast at Wolfies

Ah...nothing like a cold beer after 40 miles in the rain
Friday - 07/30/2010

“Singin’ in the Rain, just Singin’ in the Rain” or “The forecast called for rain” Robert Cray, or “A hard rain’s gonna fall” Bob Dylan.

Regardless of what you call it, I rolled out about 7:30 to a light shower that within 30 minutes had become a steady down pour. We had decided to meet at Wolfies, a local bar in Quasqueton some 40 miles away. I figured the best way to make it was to dial my brain to comfortably numb and ride. I only stopped once, for a nature call. I arrived in Quasqueton at 10:30, a walked into Wolfies. Of course five members of the “team” had already arrived. It was still raining. I had my celebratory beer and moved on. I must have bumped my derailleur on something because I was only a few 100 yards out of town when my chain jumped the sprocket. I put it back on and went on. I did this three more times in the next mile till I realized that I couldn’t use the lower 2 gears in both sets. It made the ride a little slower but that really didn’t matter because by now the rain had stopped and the skies were a bright blue. I rode into Manchester and got the bike fixed by one of several shops that follow the ride. I also checked the lost and found and was really happy to see my glasses, which I had lost two days earlier. We are spending the night with Randy and Dixie who live on a farm about five miles out of town. It seemed kind of weird riding out the highway with no one ahead or behind me. I didn’t expect to be the first but was surprised that I wasn’t the last in. Randy, the past president of the local Eagles club had volunteered to buy and cook brats for the group. Dinner was excellent with the brats and fresh corn on the cob. Randy, fueled by numerous PBR’s was the Rush Limbaughesque entertainment for the evening interspersed with fly swatting. Scent of the evening, eau de pig shit.

I have a couple more picks on my phone I'll ad later




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb