Gobblers Run Campground and Lincoln's Boyhood Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana
June 2nd 2019
Published: June 8th 2019
Edit Blog Post

We stayed the night at Lincoln State Park in Lincoln City, Indiana, close to the location where Abraham Lincoln lived from age 7 to age 20. We stayed in Gobblers Run Campground, which is a tent-only campground. It’s connected to another campground that allows RVs and motorhomes.

Gobblers Run was very quiet. We ended up with a site near the restrooms, and there was no one else camped on our stretch of campground. We could relax and let the kids run and explore. Well, within limits. There was a lot of poison ivy on the edge of the forest behind the campsites, so they couldn’t go close to the forest! We were happy with the campground overall. Unfortunately, I accidentally deleted most of the photos I took of the campground area.

We woke up early this morning. I thought we were on Eastern time and set out for the Lincoln Boyhood Home Visitor’s Center for their 8am opening. Unfortunately, it was really only 7am. A nice ranger explained my mistake regarding the time zone to me (it must be common) but said I could still hike around the grounds. I went to the site of one of the Lincoln
Abraham Lincoln's Boyhood HomeAbraham Lincoln's Boyhood HomeAbraham Lincoln's Boyhood Home

Lincoln City, Indiana
cabins. It’s the only surviving one, and the only surviving parts are the perimeter of the cabin and the stone hearth. Afterwards, I went back to the campsite, helped the family load up the camping equipment in the car, and then we went back to the visitor’s center. The museum was nice, and we spent about 20 minutes going through it. We got our cancellation stamps in our national parks passports, and then we set out on the road.

I’m writing my blog posts from the car. I can’t publish them, but at least I can save them to make updating earlier at a later date. Our destination today is the Great Smoky Mountains! We’ve been planning and looking forward to this trip for quite some time!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Tom Lincoln's CabinTom Lincoln's Cabin
Tom Lincoln's Cabin

This is where Abraham Lincoln lived from age 7-20.


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 19; qc: 74; dbt: 0.1429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb