A new state and a new city to explore "Indianapolis, IN".


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Indianapolis
December 15th 2011
Published: May 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

There has been a gap in my travel blogging due to a move from San Antonio, TX to Indianapolis IN. I'm going to have to back date a few blogs to share my expierences in this new area of the US. I'm excited to get started only because after extensive research there just isn't enough information to make this City or state as inticing as other well known Cities. I know as the case with traveling theres always something to see or expierence in every place and hopefully I can find and share a bit with you on my blog entries.

That being said my first expierence in the Circle City was Super Bowl XLVI and I believe it was a devine sign as I'm a New Yorker and it was Giants VS the Patriots! We all know who won... ( NEW YORK WHOO HOOO BABE!!)...had to get that out for the last time this year. The atmosphere that went on downtown prior to the beg game and during the big game was worth visiting the city even if you didn't have tickets. among the crowd

Indinanapolis really took pride in rolling out the carpet for the Super Bowl. Originally I did not know if I was going to be able to get to expierence it myself as parking seemed to be on the ridiculous side of being charged atleast $30.00 at the miniumum. Luckily, my husband has family here because he is an 100% Indiana born and raised in this city. My mother in-law kindly dropped us off at a close point to where the action was and we walked around to see what was going on for the party. My main mission was to get a snapshot of the big roman numerals. Of course they put the numbers up at monument circle which proved to be where most people went to as they wanted the same picture as I did. Tents were piched up for partying, Lights with the diffrent NFL teams circled the sidewalks and diffrent stages holding a varitye of concerts were placed all over to enjoy. Indianapolis wouldn't be Indy if the race cars weren't present to google over. The was the infamous zipline across the crowd and to my young son's delight dancing cheerleaders performing in their cute barely there uniforms. If you happened to glance up at the street names you would notice the had been temporaly renamed for the NFL sports teams. The impressive thing among this crowd was the sea of blue from this cities die haeart fans who represented thier beloved Colts by wearing their teams jersey's despite the fact the Colts were not in the final big game. We simply had a cold beer and ate a Jimmy Johns salami sandwhich and took in the crowd of people just to say atleast once we expierenced the enthuasism of being in a city hosting a NFL Super Bowl.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.064s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb