Day 1: Goshen, Indiana


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Indiana » Elkhart
June 27th 2009
Published: June 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 1 of our great American adventure was a success. Unfortunately Dad's VW was unable to make the trip with us due to some electrical problems so we have my Mom's Ford instead. So now we can't drive to Montana on vegetable oil, which is slightly disappointing but I'm just happy to be going regardless of the car I'm in. We made it without incident to Goshen, Indiana, approximately 650 miles from home. We left this morning around 9 and got to our motel here a little before 9 this evening. It was nice to see that since we haven't changed time zones yet, it was bright and sunny outside until about 9:30 tonight. Not really anything exciting to report upon. Dad and I alternated the driving so it wasn't bad at all. I didn't take any photos today but here are a few observations that I feel are noteworthy:

1) When Dad says "Let me go talk to them about the car. Be back in 2 minutes." it really means "I should be back within the hour." (He was actually gone for about 20 minutes)

2) Interstate 80 through Pennsylvania, Ohio, and Indiana may be one of the most boring roads I have ever driven on. Pennsylvania has some hills but most of it is flat land with some trees and then lots of farms in Ohio and Indiana. Other than that there is literally nothing to see, hence no photos from today.

3) Dad nearly slept through the entire state of Ohio. I thought he was going to pull it off but he only managed to sleep through about 150 of the 230 mile stretch.

4) There are a lot of Mennonite and Amish throughout Ohio and Indiana. I wasn't expecting this.

5) We ate dinner at a little local fast food place called Penguin Palace (or something like that). We were told they had good milkshakes (I had one. Not the best I've ever had, but good none the less) but it is still just like every other fast food place. I enjoyed my food though.

6) We didn't turn the radio on at all in the car today. Dad and I talked for most of the time we were both awake, which was nice.

7) Breakfast at the hotel begins at 4AM tomorrow. This is ridiculous.


I think that's all for today. The air conditioner is blowing right on me and I'm freezing so I'm going to wrap this up. Tomorrow we are driving through Chicago, into Wisconsin and Minnesota. I'm hoping to take some photos while driving through Chicago so with any luck they will be here tomorrow.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0764s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb