Hi and bye, Chicago!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois
August 27th 2018
Published: August 27th 2018
Edit Blog Post

It’s been a whirlwind three days in Chicago, and Sharon and I covered a lot of ground (in steamy heat, I might add - the heat/humidity index today was 102degrees, and it felt like breathing through wet blankets)

The “main event” was a John Singer Sargent exhibit at the Chicago Institute of Art - zowie!

There was a George Jensen silver show ? in the next room, which made us drool.

We also got to a farmers market, an art festival on Glen Ellyn lake, and I tried a Chicago pizza and hot dog (loaded, it’s perfection).

Now sitting in ORD, waiting to board Norwegian Premiere Class for London.

I’ll shout when I’m on the other side of the pond!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Chicago Institute of ArtChicago Institute of Art
Chicago Institute of Art

We scored the Sargent show!
Chicago Institute of ArtChicago Institute of Art
Chicago Institute of Art

Uncannily realistic, down to the eye glimmer.
Chicago Institute of ArtChicago Institute of Art
Chicago Institute of Art

How many colors in “white”?
Chicago Institute of ArtChicago Institute of Art
Chicago Institute of Art

Masterfull light
Chicago Institute of ArtChicago Institute of Art
Chicago Institute of Art

Grant Wood’s sister and his dentist
Chicago Institute of ArtChicago Institute of Art
Chicago Institute of Art

George Jensen silver service
Exchequer PizzaExchequer Pizza
Exchequer Pizza

Highly recommended
Portillo’sPortillo’s
Portillo’s

Ready to be initiated
Portillo’sPortillo’s
Portillo’s

Got my brew and a Chicago dog!


27th August 2018

Happy Trails
Looking forward to the next update.
27th August 2018

Happy Trails
Looking forward to the next update.
27th August 2018

Hot dog
The Portillo's dog has me drooling. So happy you were able to spend time with Sharon. Sharon told me I should ask to see the video you made of the art show painting. You pacmke a lot into a couple of days!
27th August 2018

Chicago looks Cool ?
I know it was hot and muggy but the sights were amazing! Loved the art and OMG the pizza looked delish! I will try and convey how I sent this comment to Rosie via FB ?
27th August 2018
Portillo’s

Got your 2nd entry and photos so I guess I signed up correctly. Loved the art and wonder if your hot dog tastes as good as a Costco polish dog? Smooth flight and go night night.
27th August 2018
Portillo’s

Hot digs
Don’t know what the polish one tastes like, so you’ll have to introduce me..? The Chicago dog had snap, was high quality and the condiments tasted fresh and healthy.
27th August 2018
Portillo’s

A Polish dog awaits you when you get home. If you remember after 3 months of fun....
27th August 2018

Hopefully will get an alert next time you blog!

Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb