2 Men of a Certain Age (Old that is) on Three Wheels


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Orland Park
June 30th 2019
Published: July 1st 2019
Edit Blog Post

My brother, Jim and I are doing a long adventure trip together. He lives in Fayetteville, AR and, of course I live in Orland Park, IL, a Chicago suburb. We plan on meeting in Paola, KS (near Kansas City) on July 2nd. Jim rides a Honda Goldwing Trike and I ride a Can Am Spyder, another three wheeler.



We will ride to Colorado and ride for a couple days through the mountains there. After that part of the trip, we will part ways and Jim will make his way home and I will continue on to California. We are going to ride as much as possible on US 50 westbound. US 50 is one of our country's earliest coast to coast highways and in Nevada it is the "Loneliest Road in America." Once I get to the Monterrey Peninsula, I plan on riding down the California coast on Highway 1 and then connect with US 66 around Santa Monica and make the trip home on US 66. It should be a trip of about 5,000 miles for me.



At 69 years old, I have some reservations about my ability to make a trip of this length. But I believe my love of travel and adventure will keep me going. I was inspired to make this trip on the Spyder by a very impressive lady named Connie Hoffman we met last summer at Bond Falls in the Michigan's Upper Peninsula. We were riding side by sides with our friends, Pat & Dawn Keefe and when we stopped at Bond Falls, Connie pulled in on a white Can Am Spyder RT, very similar to mine. She told us that she has ridden over 50,000 miles on her Spyder and she was currently on a 5,000 mile trip by herself to see the Upper Peninsula. She is from western Nebraska.



I plan on riding to South St. Louis Monday, a ride of around 300 miles. Then it's off to Paola, KS about another 280 miles.

Advertisement



1st July 2019

MC Trip
Safe & fun travels , my friend ! We look forward to updates .
1st July 2019

Thanks Buddy
I'll se you in about 3 weeks. Hit 'em straight.
2nd July 2019

Be Careful
Sounds like a great trip but be careful my friend. We had a horrific tragedy in northern New Hampshire, probably while you were in Canada, when a truck pulling a car trailer plowed into a U.S. Marine veteran group motorcycle ride. Seven DEAD!!
2nd July 2019

Tragedy
Hi Bill, I plan on being careful. I read about that horrible tragedy.

Tot: 0.311s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 21; qc: 112; dbt: 0.1602s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb