17 Days


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Jerseyville
December 18th 2014
Published: December 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It is now 17 days until my flight for Dublin. It is hard to believe that the time is nearly here. After months of planning, I guess I am ready. There is still quite a bit of work to do, mainly packing, and I will probably decide to do that a few days before. The question is: How does one live out of a suit case for 6 months, when they are used to having a dresser and closet full of clothes?. I will be studying about 2.5 hours from Dublin in Waterford. Yes, it is the home to the famous crystal and also the oldest city in Ireland having been found over 1000 years ago by vikings. I will be attending Waterford Institute of Technology and hopefully be taking some economics and international business courses. I say hopefully beccause I am really not sure what I will be taking, lets just say their school structure is a little different than ours' in the States. I mean, they do have a pub on campus. The only known is that I have a place to stay and I am attending the university. I have been told that the Irish enjoy this laid back lifestyle and prefer to "get to things, when they get to them". This is not exactly my style, and I will probably have several freak out moments, but it's all a learning experience. It's not only a learning experience, but also a growing experience. They say study abroad changes a person. Students come back when a new sense of self and the world around us. Students realize that other countries do exist besides America and we are not always right, but I hope this experience can help forge me into a new global citizen and also making me thankful that I live in the United States.

This was kind of a test blog, so if you have read this, congrats, you have found my blog and hopefully all future posts will be here. I hope you enjoy reading my blog as much as I enjoy living it.



Nathan

Advertisement



19th December 2014

Found IT!
It looks good and easy to use. Keep preparing & Packing! Merry Christmas! Ver
30th December 2014

Nathan, I cannot believe that you are leaving in 6 days!!!! I am SOO excited for you. Take it all in even the tiny seemingly non interesting things. Keep up with your journal you will cherish it 10 years down the rode. Love, Mom

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb