Got visa?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Grayslake
January 3rd 2006
Published: January 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I got my visa. It was surprisingly easy. I decided that consulates are very good representations of countries. The Chinese consulate in New York was large and had marble and granite as the main construction material. The French consulate in Chicago was naturally smaller than New York, but it also had a whole different feel to it. Still bureaucratic, but with more opportunities to interact with the officials. And the decorations were more plush, modern and vibrant than the Chinese consulate. And there was almost nobody there. I was very surprised.

Overall it was a good day. Mom and I got there at 9am and were out by 9:30am. Then we walked over to Marshall Field's to pay our last respects, and were lucky enough to eat breakfast at the Walnut Room, without much wait. Mom and I saw the tree, we explored the floors and bought Frango mints before returning to the consulate to pick up my passport and visa. It was completely painless.

Now of course I have to figure out what I'm going to pack, leave behind half of that and try not to forget anything.

My work is never done.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb