Final Blog


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Glen Ellyn
July 23rd 2017
Published: July 24th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hello




I've been home now since June 17th, and I have settled back into my american life very smoothly. I am loving my internship in the loop and spending all this time with my family. But I am getting really bored and just ready to go back to american college. Its taken me a long time to write this the way I want it.




So: I can’t believe I’m writing my last blog from my experience. It has taken me a long time to fully absorb everything I just did and construct everything I want to write. Because I want it to be great. 😊 Writing it right now makes it feel that much more real that this is really over. :/ I cannot say it enough, but I can truly tell you with 100 percent of me that going to Spain and taking a semester abroad was the best thing I have ever done for myself. It was hands down the best decision I have ever made in my short 20 years on this beautiful world.




If you think about the experience as a whole and its dynamic of what it consists of, going abroad is something that people don’t just go and do for the hell of it, they do it completely for themselves. In fact, It may be the most selfish thing a person can do. And that’s why I am so proud of myself, for doing something that was completely for me and my own benefit. I’m not one to be selfish, but It’s the most selfish I think I've ever been. And I’ve learned that when you’re young like I am, you have to be. Because before I know it, I’m not going to have any time for travels or shenanigans.




Let's talk about my past: I am so blessed to have had a stable home with parents raising me who do everything for me, and grow up in a amazing place. I will never take that for granted. My time in high school was a positive one, but I really didn’t know who I was or what the hell I was doing. (not to sound cliche) but I really didn't. I also didn't know who I wanted to be in college. Most of my head consisted of question marks.
Really. And then came college. At dayton. The first year I spent there was probably the worst year I ever had. I am not over exaggerating. Words won't come close to describe the troubles I went through there. Truthfully. Things just did not go well. You name it, it went wrong. I was the girl who didn’t really make friends too easily, I was the girl who got cut from every single sorority, (that’s right , not one house wanted me) and by the end of my year when I thought things were looking up, the people I thought I could safely call my friends there later showed their true colors and turned out to be the worst people I had ever met. I am saying this not out of past sadness, but out of redemption. Because something sooo amazing came out of it. Spain. It took some real courage to go back to UD last fall. But I did it, it went amazing, and I survived. I faced some real betrayal then that to this day still breaks my heart in pieces, but it made me that much stronger and it gave me the hard enough head to try
something new and say, “Hey, I think I might wanna go abroad.”




I remember my freshman year at UD when I thought that a whole semester abroad would be wayy to long. I couldn't believe that anyone could even do that. That I’d probably just do a summer thing. And that I would never be able to for that long. And look what I just did! I am so glad I did this. If I didnt face those obstacles and grow they way I did, I don’t know that the epic fairy tale I just had in San Sebastián would have ever happened.




So, considering my life the way it was before spain, and now today after it changed my life forever, with what I know now … here are my parting messages:











1. “It just shows how truly great life can be. Life doesn’t have to be bad forever, it can be good again, in fact it WILL be good again”




This is my new quote for anyone going through something right now. These words flowed
into my mind within the first two weeks I was in spain, and I think what enhanced this the most was the fact that everything was new: I was thrown into knowing absolutely nothing and almost nobody to an entire new world. Everything was new and everything was refreshing. I was a new person living a new life in a new world. New new new new new. This did me very good. Life can be good again, it just starts with something completely new.







2. The importance of having Friends who actually acknowledge you.




I’ve had wonderful friends throughout my life that have came and gone through my college years, but the friends I made from europe have to be some of the truest, most understanding and genuine people I have ever met. And for the first time in awhile, I felt actually heard. And acknowledged.. On a grown up level. This is part of why I want to move to europe in my twenties at some point. I feel as though I identify with europeans so much better. And socially, I clique with them so much more and
I have found that there are way more people like me there than there are here in the US. Having friends who listen to you and acknowledge your existence and your presence redefined my standards for my friendships. Those that I will continue to hold people to here.









3. What I've learned about myself:




I’m much more independent than I ever knew.






I traveled to two countries at the end of my journey completely alone and I had zero issues. I wasn't nervous, lonely , or anything. I was completely content. Happy. I met the coolest people just on my own with no problems.




In spain, everyday was a new adventure, but sometimes I would go and do things completely alone and just enjoy myself and my own company. I found that I really am okay on my own. As social as I was, sometimes I just wanted to chill alone
and take in all the beauty without any background noises.







4. How have I changed:




food - I like so many more fresh natural foods now! So cultured. I am super into fresh everything. I am switched to a paleo diet, have lost over 15 pounds, and I don’t eat dairy or grains anymore. Keep it fresh 😊





cooking - oh god. Whoever is close to me knows that I couldn't cook to save my life. Well: You'll be happy to know that this has changed! The spanish markets are so cheap (ridiculously) that we bought so many good groceries that we had so much fun cooking together in our flat! I picked up lots of quick and easy things and recipies.




The best one of all: The day I left for spain was the day I actually stopped taking the antidepressants I was on all of 2016. I haven't needed them since. This was a big deal. Life is good.





5. Social skills




Growing up, we all go through social turmoils, shitty drama, stabbing in the back, exclusiveness, and more. But I learned In Europe how to literally just brush those things OFF. There were some cliques forming and I began to notice that one of them I wasn't always invited to everything. And when I think of who I was a year ago, I think then I would have gotten super down and negative about that where as now, and in Spain, I literally just learned how to not spend any of my time worrying about that and just go with it. I had other friends who loved being with me who I stuck to anyways. And besides, when you’re in a country like Spain and your time is limited, you can't waste even one minute not enjoying yourself.







6. Being social on a whole different level




If you think americans are social, think again. We actually suck here socially to be honest. People you meet in hostels you end up going out and exploring together, going out and partying with, and connecting on social media and staying in touch. Americans sometimes have trouble just talking to strangers.
I think we associate strangers as a strange unknown and we are just stand offish. In europe you meet someone, you give them the two face kisses, and you end up being with them the whole night. They invite you to an excursion the next day. It is so easy to meet people and be social there. Americans need to fix their social skills for sure!!! We need hostels. I’d meet people on the beach in san sebastian and they'd invite us out for drinks later that night. It was just so easy. We were social on a completely different level.







7. Money is for spending too:




I have always been someone who was kind of cheap. I hate to admit that but I really am. When I earn money, I like to see it grow in my account and then never touch it. I am a saver. It is a good thing about me, but in some aspects it's a bad one too. In europe, you will spend a lot of money. And I knew that but I hated seeing my number drop and how much stuff was.
But you learn that it is part of the deal and to have the epic experience of a lifetime, a lot of your money will be spent. I learned how to spend my money on the right things, and when to not worry about numbers and just do what I enjoyed no matter the cost. In the end, without money we’d truly all be rich wouldn't we? But that just isn't the way the world works today.











8. You won't be just like everyone, you don't mesh with every type of personality, and that's completely okay.





This is a big one. I’ve always struggled to understand why with some people I just can't make a connection, or why some people I meet I have a hard time starting conversations with. But I’ve learned that that's life. Humans desire to connect with people , but we’re all different with different personalities and we can't connect with every single soul we meet. Not every single person I meet is going to become my best friend,& that's okay. And I've learned that now. And most of all, that it's completely okay. I had friends in my program who I could sit and laugh with all day, but when certain people came around I realized how different I was from some people and that may be why I didn't connect with them. I’ve learned that it's okay to not be deep with everyone. There's such thing as an acquaintance.







9. Travel tips!




Here are just some things I wish I had just brought with me in the first place:




Padlocks: These are your best friend in hostels. Most hostels have lockers and if you don't want your passport stolen, INVEST IN PADLOCKS. You can lock all kinds of stuff up, and if they don't have lockers, you can lock your suitcase shut.





Small bottles: For shampoo and other toiletry items. You can't bring giant bottles on trips obviously, so these come in super handy when you have weekend trips.







10. Where I'd go in europe the next time:




You may think I traveled a whole lot, but
to tell you the truth, I didn't go to even half of the places I wanted to.(just loved San Sebastián so much) But I see it as a reason to go back. If I could go back to Europe I'd hit …




Lagos, Portugal - Portugal is the neighboring country west of Spain and you may be surprised by this, but it is super expensive to get to even from central Spain! We were so caught off guard by this but it really is expensive to travel to. A lot of people go to Porto or Lisbon (the bigger cities in the county), but I'm more interested in the way south area with the beautiful beaches. Lagos will be perfect for some spontaneous get away some day!




Seville, Spain - I traveled to many parts of Spain, my base country, but I didn't make it to Seville. Moreover, everyone I talked to who has went on a southern Spain trip of all the cities has said that hands down Seville was their favorite! This is a must for me in the next few years (:





Brussels, Belgium
-




We had some Belgian people visit a friend in our program and they were so cool and unique. However, our program actually didn't have anyone from Belgium so I didn't get to learn anything about this country. Makes me all that more curious. I’d like to learn about their country and the food! I wanna go here!







Switzerland - either Zurich, Interlaken, or Lucerne:




We also didn't have any Swiss people in our program. But I met some in hostels and they were some of the most beautiful and down to earth people there. I had a lot of fun with them and the things I hear about the Swiss alps have me so mesmerized by what kind of experiences I could have there. Switzerland being a extremely neutral country (at least It's known that way) has me very curious and interested . It's on my list!!!





Sweden - my Swedish roommate Pauline was probably the closest person and friend I made in Spain and I adore her. I'm dying to visit her in her country. She's from the
way south. Viken. Through living together and being great friends, I learned a great deal about Sweden and their government and their culture from her. This I think may be at the top of my list !





Copenhagen , Denmark




The danes I hear are incredible!!!!! Pauline being so far down south in Sweden, she's practically in Denmark. She flies into Copenhagen because it's faster and closer to her home than most bigger Swedish airports. She is in Copenhagen all the time and says that when I come to sweden in the next few years, I HAVE to go to Copenhagen with her because it's apparently the “happiest city in the world”. I hear there is a lot to do there and amazing cool food. Scandinavia, I got my eyes on you!!!!!







Prague, Czech Republic:





Prague, the heart of the czech republic. I have heard amazing things about prague and its beauty. We had one czech girl at my spanish school who is from prague who had to be one of the sweetest people ever. I hope to do
some eastern europe adventuring and stop in prague and see her. I hear that their beer is literally 1 euro each. I also am dying to go and see those old buildings in the old part of prague.. Oh and you can’t forget the john lennon wall!!!







Italy:





Italy I want to be an epic trip, just because every european I have met has told me that Italy is the best country in the world. Their favorite. Spain and italy are always the favorites. Culturally, and in every other way. I am dying to see the amalfi coast, rome, and just italian culture. In fact, when we were in tenerife, a woman was translating a tour in italian and I realized that I understood all the italian she was speaking. (Very close to spanish) anyways, I want italy to be an epic trip more likely when I have the money to stay in nice places and take a lot of time off to really explore this huge and flawless country!!!







---------------------------------------------------------------------









Mom and dad, thank you so much for letting me do this. I know how many times I nagged you about going even when I was a freshman, and you let me go and I am so thankful for it. I love you so much




I am so lucky to have done this and it will be something I cherish forever. I was able to take 12 credit hours in a foreign but amazing country and enjoy a true education abroad.I am excited to return back to dayton and take on my junior year. I finally am a resident of the legendary ghetto, and will be living with 5 other girls and take 18 credit hours (yikes). Wish me luck!!!! This is what it truly means to be american. My american college experience is one I want to enjoy again.





Thanks so much for reading and keeping up with my adventures! It’s been fun, and I was so lucky.





One last thing:





Siempre Aprovechar. → Always take Advantage.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 53; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb