who moved my soy sauce?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Evanston
July 3rd 2008
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

When I am stressed, I am also very distracted. I think this is typical stressed-person behavior but I think my forgetfulness stories are extra funny. This week alone, I've nearly missed my doctor's appointment, almost forgotten to pick the kids up early from camp, and had several mishaps in the kitchen.

The other day I put the peanut butter in the freezer. Could not find it! Very confusing, as it is a staple in our house. Turns out--it was in the freezer. I can't blame anyone but myself in such matters, since the kids don't cook much and I'm the only adult in the house. It was me.
The good news is, Kirkland organic peanut butter freezes well. It wasn't icy, just more firm than usual and cold. Yum. I tasted it and thought, could this be a new invention? Too bad I'm busy moving to China.

Tonight, while thinking about a life without an oven, I concluded that this is really is no big deal for me. My typical meals are cooked on the stove anyway. I make stir fry, noodles, rice...my household already has an Asian influence--at least for the adults. Kids are fine with these things but they like an occasional pizza which we can order easily enough. There's a Papa John's pizza in Shanghai now!
Anyway, my point of this ramble is that during my meal prep I could not find my soy sauce in the fridge. I searched the usual places--shelves on side of fridge--all 3 of them. Then I thought, maybe it is in the main fridge, as odd as that would be. I don't put condiments in that no man's land for fear of exactly this situation. Turns out (and I am sure you are on the edge of your seat at this point) the soy sauce was right where it should have been, just on its side and hidden behind the mammoth bottle of catsup. So, all is right in my world. My stir fry was saved, I'm gearing up for the new lifestyle, and I'll try not to lose the syrup for tomorrow's birthday waffle breakfast!

Advertisement



10th July 2008

i hear ya on the stess-distraction bit
The other morning, I rinsed off my shampoo and put some conditioner in my hand. Next thing I knew, I was applying the conditioner to my cheeks! Good luck with the last few weeks!!

Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.138s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb