Life is a Highway... I Want to Ride it all Night Long


Advertisement
Published: April 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, sleeping in the car last night was not a good idea. Apparently my body is used to only getting 2 hours of sleep and having to be wide awake, and that’s what it wanted to do. Oh my. I was up forever. Sore… hungry… cold… hot… too tired to read, to awake to sleep.

Early came really quickly. As I was getting ready, I realized that I didn’t have anymore socks. I’m apparently missing quite a few. They’re not in my suitcase either, as I got the last pair this morning. Not sure what I will do tomorrow.

The TD at this venue was amazing, as was the ME! So nice. Everything was taken care of and ready to go, except the linesets, which Kyle and I never did (my bad.) Still, we usually load in 12 hours before show and only did 10 today because of a 5 p.m. show. We still had a good hour off. During that hour, our whole crew, along with most of the locals, went out and played Frisbee in the beautiful sun. When we arrived at the venue, it as a little brisk, but nice, and the sun was just coming up; it really felt like we should be sitting on a lake fishing. But alas, we had to work (finally!) The crew did an astonishingly fast focus, and possibly the best we’ve had thus far. I was very pleased. The venue even bought us lunch! Ahh.

Kyle and I are still working out the kinks of micing kids. Neither of us have really ever miced little ones before, let alone really sweaty little ones who move a lot. Rachel always took care of it, so we’re learning.

Show went well, as did load out. It took a bit longer than usual because we were waiting for the truck (that had been moved) to come back. While I was striking my lights and directing traffic for the local crew, Ruthie walked by. “Auntie, how do you know what is what?” I make it up! Afterward, we all sat down (locals and our crew) and had pizza before hitting the road. Another hour and a half night drive.

Kyle and I checked in, and the other girls said I was to have a room to myself. I went into my own room, with a king-sized bed and laid crosswise on it and started settling in. Until there was a knock at my door. Sarah. “We’re sharing a room.” “We only have one bed, my friend.” She started moving in when Beth arrived to let us know she had two beds she didn’t need, so Sarah and I moved into a different room. Oh well. Such is life.

Another show tomorrow… Three days in a row! The TD from today knows the one for tomorrow and says we’ll be well taken care of. Then we have a day off for driving, and a few more shows this week. I like this much better.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.395s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1825s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb