Exploring Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
September 14th 2014
Published: September 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I recently went on a trip to Chicago with a friend. I was excited, but also nervous. It is such a big city with so much to see and do. She had some workshops to attend, but they only took a few hours per day. That left us plenty of time to explore.

One of the best ways to get around Chicago is with the double decker buses. You can buy a pass for a day or for several days. They have numerous points where you can get on and off. It sure beats paying for a taxi to get around!

One of my favorite places to explore was millennium park. I had seen so many pictures of it online, now I can say that I have been there. In addition to the lovely walking paths, there was a small stream where we took our shoes off and let our toes hang in the water for a bit. We walked through the lovely flower garden and listened to a free concert in the park. They have some really nice statues and artwork on display too.

Little Italy was one of my favorite areas of Chicago. The food was amazing, and we dined outdoors. The music, the setting, and the food was all amazing. Of course it is hard to pass up the Chicago style pizza either! Now I know what all the fuss is about when people talk about that style of pizza!

One of the evenings, we went to Soldier Field, home to the NFL Chicago Bears to watch a pre-season game. I am a huge football fan so it was a great way to spend the evening. The stadium is huge, with plenty of great things on display to see from past events and players. The fireworks at the end of the night were also enjoyable.

Sadly, we didn’t have time to see the many museums and historical areas around Chicago. I can tell you though that it is one of the best places I have been to visit in a long time. I can’t wait to plan a trip back here to explore it.



Oh, and I also learned that Chicago being nicknamed the windy city has nothing to do with the weather! It has to do with the politicians from long ago in this area!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb