The Windy CIty...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
August 30th 2006
Published: August 31st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Chicago


I have finally arrived in The Windy City (apparently)....whoever named this city has obviously never been to Wellington! After what was the longest day of my life I arrived at the hostel in Chicago last night ready to attempt to sleep off the jetlag. What I didn't expect was to meet two lovely girls the moment I stepped foot into my dorm and go out for some drinks. Thus extended the longest day by a few hours. At 2am (5pm the next day in Sydney) I crawled into bed. My sleep for cut short when the girl from Detroit and the girl from Oxford (yes it is a little contradictory) woke me up when they tripped over their own suitcases and thus giggling continuously for five mins. Ordinarily I would have been slightly aggravated (for anyone that knows me, I am never angry) but being a clumbsy person as well, I was glad that it was them and not me. I proceeded to drag myself to bakery with them for breakfast and was delighted to be faced with the possibility of some many varieties of bagels! It was nice to have a bagel after realising that I am in the land of opposites: They drive on the wrong side of the road (noramlly not an issue, except when you are trying to cross them!!); their largest coins are a quarter of a dollar; the have push doors instead of suto opening doors (I have already been stuck in one of these, very amusing for everyone but me) and they measure everything in a way that doesn't make any sense!! And the most embaressing thing of all Maccas isn't the golden arches here....its apparently another word to pash someone. Oops

After leaving my new friends to meet with some people from the tour, we hit the Art Institute of Chicago, one the best galleries and art schools in North America. For an Art History graduate like me, I was in heavan and then proceeded to turn into a tour guide for the others as they had no idea about any of it, except that I have never seen such a huge collection of art for such a reasonable price. Even after everyone you know has told you that everything in America was bigger I only reaslied it when I ordered a large coffee to wake myself up at 4 in the arvo, (as I was not coping with the time difference) and received a coffee larger than can of coke. Lets just say I'm tired anymore...





Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb