RHILA #26


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 15th 2012
Published: April 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

1. Receiving the Vittum Award has been the best experience I have had at UICCP. The Award has allowed me to use it for my College essays. Also, the award represents the type of student that I am. I was incredibly surprised when I got it because I didn't think my teachers were paying attention to all my hard work, so that has been one of my greatest experiences.

2. "Fun Day" has been another great experience. I remember the morning was just like any other. Students were eating their breakfast, talking to their friends, and finishing their homework. However, the staff surprised us with a Fun day and students were able to dance, watch a movie, or play board games. I wish we could have done that more often. I'm sure that many students would appreciate it.

3. I know that it was difficult for a lot of girls in my advisory, but having a new advisory was a great experience. My group of sisters grew and also my original advisory sister bond grew. I made new friends and people I can trust; otherwise, I probably wouldn't have spoken to them as often as I do.

4. My junior year I was able to participate in the MCJROTC Paris Island trip. It was the most unforgettable trip of my life. I got to meet students from other noble campuses. We all did a lot of team work, did physical training, I was able to go down a high wall even though I was terrified, and at the end buy souvenirs. It was really fun and tough but I was able to prove to myself that I could overcome any challenge thrown at me.

5. This year I decided I wouldn't join the girls soccer team because I wanted to focus more on getting financial aid. However, my sophomore year after a hard year of training we won first place in the whole Noble Network. That was the first time I had ever won something so big with teammates.

6. Taking a part of the Musical and also the "Guys and Dolls" Musical. It was my first time getting up on stage. Even though I did not have huge role in the play, I was still nervous because I'm not sure to standing in front of a crowd and talking or in this case singing.

7. This year I participated in the "Toys for Tots" community service. It was a great experience because for about 2 months the MCJROTC students collected toys for children who do not get much for the holidays. I remember that when I was younger I really liked getting toys, so knowing that all the toys we gathered would put a smile on a child's face was really heart warming,

8. What I like about UIC is that the staff provides the students with the resources they need to be successful. For example, students receive emails about certain areas they can complete their community service and the deadline.

9. What I like about UIC is that it takes students to different universities so that they can see how certain campuses look. I think this is very beneficial because it allows students to explore a school that may sound interesting. If the students like the school, they will have a s hooligan they might consider applying to.

10. Being the first class of UIC College Prep. I remember when I was in 8th grade and Mr.Sicat came to talk to my class. I was so excited. I wanted to attend the school really bad. It was the first high school application. I filled out because it was my first choice. I am leaving a legacy for other students.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb