RIHLA #23


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 19th 2012
Published: March 19th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I believe that writing is a personal sanctuary. “Sanctuary” is used to describe “freedom,” and I think “freedom” is closely associated with writing. I’m sure when one thinks of writing, one imagines a scholar typing away on a laptop or home computer about subjects to bore their readers. That vision, however, is not the case here.

I am talking about writing setting one’s mind at peace. Writing can be in the form of a journal, diary, short story, or random scribbles. Either one works in this case, for I am sure that either style will benefits one’s mind.

When writing, a writer is not only putting down words. A writer is pouring out his or her mind’s contents and setting his or her mind free. When the contents are all out, there is a great amount of peace in the writer’s mind. This peace is the freedom.

The writer’s contents don’t have to be emotions, troubles, or daily events. The contents can be anything the writer wants. The paper is the writer’s world, and the pencil, or laptop keyboard, is the magic wand. I, for example, take on the short story content of writing.

When I write, I write about the random topics or tiny plots that my imagination creates, and I reread my short stories to make myself laugh and argue with fictional characters. I’ll just say that the short stories and laughing feels great, especially after a busy school day.

When I’m finished writing, I find that I’m relaxed and at peace with my inner world. Take this essay, for example. As I finish this essay, my mind is becoming more relaxed or more free. Thus, I believe that writing is a sanctuary.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb