RHILA #23


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
March 18th 2012
Published: March 18th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Daniela Don

History, B2, Ms.Held

March 15, 2012

THIS I BELIEVE....

I believe in equal opportunity for all. People will always take the opportunity that benefits them. Sometimes risking everything a person has is an individual’s only option. I have grown up with family, friends, and a community that has immigrants. I am sure that everybody knows someone who has come from a different part of the world, or heard of someone getting deported.



There is one side who believes that immigrants should not be welcomed, and another side that supports immigration. Although I can’t determine which is right or wrong, I support immigration.



It makes me ridiculously angry that teens who are natural born citizens of America do not take advantage of all the great opportunities they have such as education. In the summer I see all the gangsters walking around and looking for nothing but trouble. One summer evening I had heard gun shots. I was really scared because they sounded close, but I also felt aggravated. I got online and posted on my facebook status, “Police should just take all the gangsters put them to jail, and then the government should send them to war since all they want to do is defend and protect. Then the government should legalize undocumented immigrants and give them the opportunity all these gangsters are putting to waste”. My status got really controversial, but I felt a relief because I had said what I was really thinking.



I don’t regret posting comment because recently on the news, I heard about Daniela Pelaez, a Colombian girl in Florida. She has been accepted to the some of our country’s Ivy leagued schools. Her school GPA was above a 4.0 and had dreams of becoming a doctor. Unortuneatly, she was going to be deported. After I heard her story, my first initial reaction was “Man that’s crazy, over a 4.0, I don’t even have that”. Her story made me realize that people who come from other places have to potential to be great and come to America to make their dreams come true, regardless of all the barriers they may face. I believe there are students who wish to good in school, but there are others who just don’t care. I think that kids in America are really spoiled and don’t always appreciate what we have and just maybe if we were put into a position where we would face deportation we would want to do anything to make our dreams come true.



I believe that everyone should always take advantage of every opportunity they have. Life is unfair but people should always try to make the best of it. This I believe.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb