RIHLA #13


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
December 19th 2011
Published: December 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

1. Which one do you consider the be most HEROIC? Explain.

The most heroic of CNN's Top Ten is Robin Lim, a woman that helps poor women give birth in Bali, Indonesia. I picked this person because poor women in Indonesia have been taken the right to take home their babies away because the mothers can not pay their medical bills. Robin or "Mother Robin" founded birth clinics in Aceh and in the Island of Bali, where mothers who don't pay are allowed to feed their babies, and change their babies' dippers. THis is a better option as to not being able to see one's baby because of un-payed medical bills. Mother Robin is trying to change things with her Yayasan Bumi Sehat (Healthy Mother Earth Foundation) health clinics. This clinics offer free prenatal care, birthing services, and medical aid to anyone who needs it.



2. If you had the chance, who would you nominate to be your hero of 2011? (This person can be someone you know personally or a public figure that you consider to be a hero)

If I had the chance to nominate someone as a hero, I would nominate my kinder garden teacher, Mrs. Flores. When I was in kindergarden, I remember kids being left behind waiting for their fathers and mothers that would often take long. I was never left behind, until one day when my mother had forgotten that I got out early on that particular day. I remember waiting and waiting for what seemed like hours with few kids and at some point I wanted to cry. My teacher then asked for my address, and started walking with her little flock of kids. Mrs. Flores made sure that every single student got home safely and she would insure to drop each student home and would also have a little chat with the parents.


3. Do we study "heroes' in history? Who decides who or what is heroic?



In history, we have studies many "heroes", but what makes up a hero is the things that they do for the community. For example, Julius Cecar is considered a hero for his great achivements and his conquest, but on the flip coin, he is also seen as a tirrant to the people that he conquered.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb