Back in the Windy City


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
February 2nd 2010
Published: February 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Melisse and I spent the weekend in Chicago in planning and training meetings for Global Youth Leadership Institute (GYLI). We will both be coordinating programs this summer for GYLI. All the coordinators for the Institute's many programs get together in the dark of winter in the cold of Chicago each year to plan our programs enrich our skills, share our thoughts and feelings and just have a great time in each other's company. Being in Chicago was mind bending to me this year for many reasons. Most obviously was the fact that we left the warm, sunny climate of southern California to be here. As I write this I am back in LA so the point of comparison in the weather was well worth it. Other mental aspects of being in the Windy City were that it was but a year ago that I was unexpectedly informed that I would not be returning to my school this year and this training weekend happened a week later. Seeing all my comrades a year later with a much better frame of mind was a delight to share with everyone who had supported me last year through my grief. Finally, Chicago is where Melisse and I almost moved when I was offered a position at a school there for this year. We spent part of this visit looking at the city through the eyes of, "boy did we make the right decision" rather than, "what if". Chicago is a great city but a big city, not a place where we would thrive.
As for GYLI, Melisse has joined this motley crew who I have spent the past 5 summers with. She fits in nicely. We will both be running programs for middle school students, her on the east coast and me on the west. I will also be leading an institute in the mountains of northern New Mexico for ascending high school juniors. GYLI is an amazing organization that was founded right after 9/11/2001 as a response to the increasing craziness in the world. Our mission is to give students the skills necessary to help lead in the creation of a more peaceful, culturally aware, spiritually embracing and environmentally sustainable world. Some task there, eh. For more information, check us out at gyli.org. We are now back on the road for a bit before life gets complicated. More on that later.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Chicago Chicago
Chicago

Not exactly wilderness
Dave watches fearless leaderDave watches fearless leader
Dave watches fearless leader

Matt Nink with the latest fad


2nd February 2010

whew
Man, it was so great to see both of you....like a dream.....but, a fun one.... the work looks awesome....I know summer will be amazing!!!!! Love J

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.068s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb