Trip To Chicago


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
April 3rd 2009
Published: April 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

We're visiting the great city of Chicago because my son is graduating on Friday, April 3, at the Great Lakes naval training center. In as much as we are already in the area, I decided that we would spend the entire weekend to sightseeing tour of Chicago and other tourist spots that are popular with visitors. So my wife and I and daughter Emerald and family friend Ace left for Chicago in the afternoon of April 2. Our place of origin is San Jose, California, and we were driven at San Jcose international airport by my wife's sister. We were early at the airport, and we took advantage of the curbside check-in and had our baggage checked in. We were taking American Airlines on a direct flight to O'hare airport in Chicago. It was an enjoyable four-hour flight. We left at around 1:40 p.m. and we arrived at Chicago's O'Hare airport at around 7:35 p.m. Chicago time. I was seated in the middle of three seats in the back part of the plane, and I kept on ogling at the window right when the we were nearing to land at the airport. I was particularly looking on the tall buildings and clusters of bright lights but I could not quite discern the patterns from way up of the great city of Chicago. The airport I believe is still very far from the main city. At any rate, I kept my excitement under control. I was thinking, we have all the time in the world right after the graduation on Friday to see the great city. So we landed at the domestic terminal and headed for the baggage claim area to pick up our luggage. Afterwards, we boarded a car rental shuttle bus and went to pick up the mini-van that we reserved on the internet via Expedia to rent for three days. From there, the Chicago adventure for the four of us has began. We drove out the huge airport and en route to the hotel that we chose to stay all through the weekend. Driving on the roads and freeways of Chicago was a breeze. The freeways I-294 and I-94 have areas under repair, thus some of the lanes are a bit narrow to my estimation. My daughter tried to use the GPS navigation that she bought, but the clear guide that helped was the maps that I made out from Google several weeks back while I was making preparations for the trip. It took some trial and error of navigating the roads and highways of Chicago until I was able to adapt to its many nuances and finally, we were able to locate the hotel that we were to stay for the visit. It was a tiring journey and it had just commenced. Tomorrow is the graduation rites at Great Lakes RTC and then on to a memorable sightseeing tour of Chicago.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.266s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 40; dbt: 0.1272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb