in 1492...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
October 14th 2008
Published: October 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


...Columbus sailed the Ocean blue.

I arrived in Chicago early this morning and wasn't able to check in to the hostel until 3pm. Luckily a couple of blocks away the city's annual Columbus Day Parade was happening to keep me busy for a few hours. It's organised by the Italian American communities and basically consisted of all the local school marching bands and a few local business putting on floats.

Chicago is without doubt my favourite city so far, it's got the young busy cultural feel of New York, but without the dirt and negative attitude.

I'll write some more about Chicago soon, probably on the train to San Francisco.






Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

CopCop
Cop

Any city that gets the cops to ride around on segways is cool by me
The Jack FM carThe Jack FM car
The Jack FM car

it means nothing to me either, but they gave me a baseball
Is it just me...Is it just me...
Is it just me...

...or do these 2 girls scare the crap out of you as well?
Another old cop carAnother old cop car
Another old cop car

like the one in the Blues Brothers (which I think is set in Chicago)


17th October 2008

travel
Dear Douglas i have just arrived back from spain and read your blog the photos are good i am pleased that you are enjoying yourself lots of love Mam

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb