Chicago and the Burbs


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
May 25th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This time my travels take me a little closer to home for the wedding of a college friend. I have been to Chicago 4 or 5 times (in fact this is my 3rd time within the last 12 months) but this time I am traveling solo and am actually staying in Itasca, a suburb Northest of the city. At first, I was a bit skeptical about staying so far outisde of the city and of course, I would love to be downtown but I must say the hotel is wonderful - more on this in a minute - and for $5 I got a weekend Metra (yes Mertra, with an "a") and took the very easy 40 minute train ride right into Chicago's Union Station. Backing up. One piece of advice I can most certainly give for those considering staying Northwest of the city. Fly into O'Hare! I chose Midway because Southwest was the least expensive and does not fly into O'Hare. I would say that when all is said and done, it's probably not worth the price, literally and figuratively. After an $80 cab ride (excluding tip) through stop and go traffic during which I literally almost got car sick (unusual for me) and the driver felt so bad that he kept apologizing to me, I reached my hotel. This afternoon, I found a "cheaper" route back and can get a shuttle for only $50 plus tip. O'Hare airport, on the other hand, is so close that when you take my suggested Metra ride to downtown, you literally pass the airport within about 10 minutes of departing Itasca. But no trip would be complete without a few good stories at the traveler's expense, so I guess this starts me off on the right foot!

Every time I visit Chicago I am reminded of how wonderful a city it is and how I wish it was on a coast so I could move here and not break my "coast only" rule! I could not sleep much Friday night (big surprise!) so I took a 7:32 AM train into downtown and walked around the city for about 4 hours. I love seeing a city waking up in the morning. The workers at Navy Peer were getting everything set up, boaters were in the marina preparing for the days excursion out on the lake, outdoor enthusiasts were running, walking and biking along the river walk area and of course coffee houses and bakeries were opening up and filling with everyone's favorite Saturday morning aromas. My favorite pass time for the morning was sitting by the two fountains in Milenium Park and observing kids from ages 1 to 100 play in the fountains. One elderly woman in a wheel chair was even out in between the two fountains enjoying the mist that sprayed off of them. Little kids were running around in their bathing suits (or underwear that they were passing off as bathing suits) chasing each other with their parents chasing them. People watching is one of my most cherished activities, whether at home or on the road, and this is one of my favorite places to do so. Something about the sun, the park, the fountains that occasionally "spit" water at you seems to make people forget their inhibitions and stresses and let their playful side come out. I sat for about an hour watching and taking it all in, and left feeling invigorated for what lay ahead me the rest of the day and this trip. So my must sees for Chicago: Navy peer - not for its activities as much because, well it's Navy Peer. Stroll along the water and just enjoy it's calming effect. Visit Milenium Park, including the fountain area and the structure that looks like a giant silver jelly belly, although I suspect it has an official name which i have forgotten. The Sear's Tower isn't a must for me, but it is a site that many tourists enjoy. I prefer a walk down to the football stadium. Chicago is also a well known for art, music and theater and depending on the time you have here, check out what exhibits, shows and concerts are available and choose at least one or two events. Another fun suggestion (I have not yet partaken in this due to my lack of coordination) is to take one of the bike or segway tours. Chicago has a large downtown but is very pedestrian-friendly and this is a unique and fun way to see the sites if you do not have much time.

Finally, I have to make a few mentions of both the hotel and the wedding which I attended. First the hotel. I am staying at the Westin Chicago Northwest. Suburban location aside, it is fantastic. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are large with very comfortable beds, the showers have a duel shower head (both at one end of the shower, not quite as cools as those kind that come at you from each end of the shower but still very nice). They have a fitness center which I'm ashamed to admit I haven't used, a very nice restaurant and the grounds are beautiful, complete with mini lakes, fountains and very green lawns with walking paths winding around the complex. The wedding ceremony was held outside on the grounds by the lake and the reception inside a giant "tent", which I quote because it's a semi-permanent looking structure that you would never realize was a tent once inside. It was well heated, large and elegantly set up perfectly for the wedding. The food and drinks were wonderful, complete with a sorbet and frozen champagne treat in between salad and dinner to cleanse our palates. When the entree came out all meat and fish, I mentioned my vegetarianism and they brought me out a beautiful portabello mushroom encrusted in something croissant-like (I failed to mention to them that mushrooms make me vomit, but it was a splendid effort on the staff's part and the crust was delicious!). The wedding was cross-denominational, as Jenny is Christian and Marc Jewish and so they encorporated both customs (I got to see them lifted up on the chairs, the highlight of the event for me!) and the band was phenomenal with a jazz/blues/rock repertoire. And now, I am headed to the airport to start part two of my trip - Seattle! Catch you all in my next blog!! Oh and I am running out of time for pictures but will post some at www.flickr.com/photos/mayamcgee

Advertisement



25th May 2008

wonderful enrty
i really enjoyed reading your bog entry. felt like i was there! thank you so much for both the information and the fun read of your blog. Please keep up the writing, i really look forward to reading each entry.
25th May 2008

Sounds LIke Fun
It sounds as though you are having a great time (crossaint-encrusted mushrooms, notwithstanding). I really enjoyed your description of everyone enjoying the fountains. It may me feel as if I were right there watching.

Tot: 0.306s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb