Chicago on a Shoestring: The Field Museum


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
August 14th 2007
Published: August 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

SueSueSue

The largest and most complete T-Rex skeleton ever found.
There was no way on earth that I would be able to drag the in laws to another museum today...by now, even their children were balking at the idea. So we had to split up a little and go our seperate ways. I really wanted to get down to see the Field Museum (www.fieldmuseum.org) which is right next to the Shedd Aquarium. We were too exhausted yesterday to see it. The cousins wanted to play baseball at the park and my own kids wanted to join them. So, my husband drove me into the city and dropped me off and then took the kids out to have fun.

Seeing the Field Museum by myself really worked out well. My husband's family had warned me that this museum had bored their children in the past and I can see why. There is a lot of reading and the exhibits aren't young child friendly. I think kids 10 years and older would enjoy it, but the 3-7 set would quickly run out of patience there.

I loved the place though. I really enjoyed the African exhibit and the Dinosaur hall. I loved seeing Sue, the largest and most complete dinosaur skeleton ever found. I've taught about her in my classroom and it was neat to see her with my own eyes. I was able to linger over exhibits and take my time reading everything. I'm glad I had the time to myself.

I borrowed my neice's lunchbox and took a sandwich and some snacks with me. I was able to find a table in the cafe to sit down and eat.

I was also able to get in free with my reciprocal membership.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0662s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb