Trip Prep


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Illinois » Chicago
December 17th 2006
Published: December 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

New Home

Green - My apartment Red - Work

Alright! With some luck, some time off work, and a perhaps hasty purchase of a roundtrip flight to Guadalajara, I'm locked into and looking forward to my first personal excursion out into the world. I'm proud to be taking care of all the preparations myself, but I'm grateful to all the help and advice I've already received from other travelers, friends, and family. So far my itinerary looks like this.

Friday - 12-22-06:
- Board Mexicana Flight from O'Hare to San Jose, MX at 8AM
- Transfer to flight to Guadalajara at 3PM
- Arrive in Guadalajara at 6, find a bus or cab, and head for Hostel del Centro in downtown Guadalajara
- Get my stuff together at the hostel.
- Meet people, maybe see some stuff at night

Saturday - 12-23-06:
- Not sure, have to make sure I do stuff I can't do on Christmas.
- Sightsee definitely.
- Town of Tequila?
- Go out somewhere at night.
- See mariachi band (Guadalajara is *the* mariachi city, apparently)

Sunday - 12-24-06:
- Again, stuff I can't do on Christmas.
- Probably sightsee a lot more. Look for murals, statues, who knows?
- Maybe go to Tonala or Tlaquepaque (artisan village, marketplace)

Monday - 12-25-06:
- Go to some amazing mexican catholic mass at a huge cathedral. I'll have to scope it out whilst exploring/sightseeing over the weekend.
- Chill out, call my family, walk around, see what happens, probably take pictures, write a lot of postcards and such.

Tuesday - 12-26-06:
- Do things I already mentioned but haven't gotten to yet.
- Leaving this day open for spontaneous plans.

Wednesday - 12-27-06:
- Last night in Guadalajara, best make the most of it.

Thursday - 12-28-06:
- Get on a bus to Puerto Vallarta.
- Not going to plan anything for today in case the bus takes forever, as I've heard they often do.
- Check into the hostel.

Friday - 12-29-06:
- Scuba dive at Majahuitas
- Go out and have fun at night.

Saturday -12-30-06:
- Scuba dive at Los Arcos?
- Maybe I should do something else... like go hiking. We'll see.
- Explore, find stuff to do, write postcards, I dunno. Fun stuff!

Sunday - 12-31-06:
- Scuba dive at Las Marietas .
- Maybe parasail.
- New Years Eve!!! Kiss someone.

Monday - 1-1-07:
- See anything else I wanted to see in Puerto Vallarta.
- Get on a bus to Guadalajara.

Tuesday - 1-2-07:
- See anything else I wanted to see in Guadalajara. Pack up my stuff.
- Board 6PM flight direct to O'Hare. Arrive @ 10pm and hopefully make it through customs unscathed.

Wednesday - 1-3-07:
- Wake up and be at work at 7am. groan...


Advertisement



22nd December 2006

greetings from sunny Mexico
hey darlin' your trip sounds fantasticly mindblowing and amazing! I know I will see you on the 7th, and I can't wait/am very much looking forward to it, but still, can you please send me a postcard?? That would be awesome. I sent a shitload of postcards when I was abroad in Estonia and Morocco.... speaking of which, did you ever get the letter I sent you? my mailing address is 1264 County Road 107, Eureka Springs, AR 72632. And, while we are on the topic of travel, for my spring break this year, i want to road trip, or travel somewhere "exotic" with a few good friends. You in? see you soon, have a wonderful time, XOXO, Angel

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb