First Day at the Farmers market


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Idaho » Moscow
May 30th 2010
Published: May 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was our first trip of the season up to Moscow Idaho for the Farmers Market.

For those that do not live in the area, Moscow is the home of the University of Idaho (of which I am an Alumni of). They are also host to some great festivals and the largest farmer's market in the area. They close down a parking lot in downtown and have 6 rows of farmer's, ranchers, vendors and food to enjoy. They also usually have some form of entertainment available during the market (runs from 8 am to Noon).

During this time of the year, most of the produce available is in the form of plants for your garden, later on they have everything that you can think of that is grown in the region. It is nice to get produce directly from the farmers and probably good for them also as there is no middle man to take a cut of the profits.

Unfortunately, it started raining right before we got to the market and I didn't take any pictures. I promise that I will get pictures up later in the season. We still did wander around, but as I have most of my garden planted already there was nothing really that took my interest. My son made his normal trip to the Honey vendor to get his honey sticks to snack on and now that I am thinking about it, we are out of honey and I should have probably picked some up.

Interesting tip: Did you know that because local honey is made from the pollen of plants where you live that it can help you build up an immunity to your seasonal allergies. Just a teaspoonful a day can build up that immunity.

If you live anywhere within 3 hours fo Moscow, I would recommend it as a great day trip for a Saturday. There are art galleries, restaurants, parks, the University and also the largest shopping mall in the area. If you are traveling from further away, there are other towns in the area to visit to make the trip worth it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb