Last full day in Kona


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii
November 20th 2012
Published: July 7th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 19.6452, -155.997

Today was a me day. Started with my favorite Papaya Nest breakfast. Half a papaya, vanilla yogurt and granola. A great way to start the day! Then I did some shopping along Ali'i Dr. I ate lunch at Humpy's (it's a humpback whale) and had a delicious fresh fish sandwich. The fish of the day was Big Island Ahi. Apparently that is a tuna, which I do not like, but this was delicious. Maybe it was the setting or just a different tasting tuna. I spent the afternoon by the hotel's saltwater lagoon. There were some crabs scuttling around and brightly colored angel fish swimming. I should have rented some snorkeling gear, but I did not. It was just relaxing to read in the quiet sand area. I also did some laundry. I know, I'm on vacation, but it was hot and my clothes stinky and I needed something to do. While that was happening I was able to spend some more time reading by the water. I went back to the Sheraton to watch for rays one more time. Tonight there were 3! The big one and two other ones. They were really circling around close to shore so it was easier to see them than last night. It also was dripping and it felt nice. I decided to walk back to the shops to find some dessert. Luckily, I wandered into one of those frozen yogurt places where you fill up your dish and pay by how much it weighs. I was excited to find one of the options was Dole Whip!!! My mom and I had this when we were at the Dole Pineapple Plantation and it was so delicious. So I filled up my bowl (and added some chocolate yogurt) and added some interesting toppings like pineapple jelly (seemed like gummy bear texture to me), flavored tapioca pearls and other things I wasn't sure of but they were all fruit flavored. I was pleased to find the Dole Whip tasted just as I remembered with a wonderful pineapple flavor. It was a great find and I'm glad I found it the last night instead of the first or I would have filled up on frozen yogurt!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb