Halloween in Wai'Ki'Ki


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
October 31st 2002
Published: October 31st 2002
Edit Blog Post

I write about Wai’ki’ki over a week after I left. Had such a cool time in Hawaii that I didn’t write. Then I got to Fiji, no electricity on the islands I was staying on. So from memory this is what I did.

Day 2 Wai’ki’ki.

Split the cost of car hire with Neil and Dean, a Londoner and Edinburghonian who I met at the Hawaiian Hostel. Travelled around the whole of the island, drove again for the first time in ages. Every few miles there would be a sign that said, “scenic view parking”, we’d pull in and ou and ah at the scenic view. Saw the famous north shore, huge waves.

Ate more junk food for lunch. Went to an all you can eat buffet with Neil and Dean, Scotty and Cinthy (Australian couple), ate all I could eat.

Day 3.

Went to the Arizona memorial at Pearl Harbour. A really moving experience, a film showed actual footage of the sinking of the battleships stationed in the harbour. The Arizona was hit by a torpedo, the torpedo hit the ammunitions store and the ship went down in seconds. I’m not sure how many if any of the crew survived, but 1500 of the crew went down with the ship. The wreck of the Arizona lies in the harbour as a memorial to the crew and a reminder of the events of Pearl Harbour. Above the wreck is situated a kind of bridge building where the names of the crew are etched in to a marble wall.

Day 4.

Walked up Diamond Head on my own, got some great photos from the top. At the bottom made my first serious mistake on my travels so far. Caught the bus, realised as the bus pulled away that my camera was still sitting on the bench at the bus stop. Stopped the bus ran back, total time about 30 secs… camera was gone. No one around. Scratch one camera, nice one, expensive when I bought it three years ago, Kodak DC280.

Day 5.

Went to Comp USA, a huge computer store. Found a Kodak DX3900 for $187, half the price I paid for my camera and a whole lot better. An ex-demonstration model at a special price. So I bought it, plus a few other bits and pieces. Silver linings and all that. Went with Eric, surf dude who works at the hostel to the movies… saw Jackass the Movie. Absolutely grotesque… but appealed to the puerile side of my sense of humour and so found it really funny.

Went to a Salsa club with Vanja (from the North of Norway) and Cathy (from Canada) who both worked at the hostel. Danced with numerous Japanese tourists. Followed this with a trip to Moose McGillingly’s (or something close to that). A really touristy bar, but had a good atmosphere and cheap drinks.

Day 6.

Halloween. Cathy had got together an angel costume, complete with some really great wings. Wanted a photo or to from the beach, so I went with her as a photographer. Borrowed a surf board and took photos of her paddling out complete with angel wings. A strange start to a strange day.

Went to Hamouna Bay for snorkelling. Didn’t see anything, but the fish were really pretty. Visited the toilet bowl, a tunnel system with a large bowl shaped pool at the end. When the waves come in rises up and then drops down about 6ft with a whooshing sound much like a toilet. Some local guys were diving through a small 2ft diameter tunnel near by, had to try it. About 30 secs of under water tunnelled swimming and then out into the ocean. Really cool, had to swim it twice.

Halloween is really big in Wia’ki’ki, so many people dress up, everyone heads out on to the streets. Some of the costumes were fantastic, mine, Hawaiian tourist really wasn’t impressive, wished I’d put some effort into the whole thing, will do if I’m in the states for Halloween again. Went to Moose’s for the disco and had a cool time.

Day 7.

Surfed. Took photos of Manni dressed as an angel down the beach. Went to an all you can eat seafood buffet with Eric, had nice sushi. Went shopping. Caught my flight, at 12.30 am on the 2nd of November. Had had a really great time in Hawaii, though one day when I have more time and more money I will come back and visit the other islands.

My Visited USA!

Hawaii Alaska DC Idaho Nevada Iowa Illinois Wisconsin Missouri Virginia West Virginia Massachusetts South Dakota Wyoming Utah Colorado New Mexico Texas Arkansas Tennesse Maine Delaware Rhode Island New Hampshire Indiana Kansas North Dakota Vermont Connecticut New Jersey Pennsylvania Ohio Georgia Florida South Carolina Mississippi Oregon Nebraska Arizona Oklahoma Louisiana Michigan Minnesota Montana Alabama North Carolina Kentucky Maryland California Washington New York
Map Legend: 13%, 7 of 51 States (Territories)
 Green 


ArizonaCaliforniaFloridaHawaiiMassachusettsNevadaUtah

Mostly visited in 2002 and 2007



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb