12 Hours...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu
January 8th 2006
Published: January 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Just checking e-mail and getting last minute things in order. In 12 hours I will be on a flight to Bangkok.
I have had a great little stopover here in Hawaii. I spent most of the week in Kihei, Maui hanging out with Barry and Rach and family. We got them all moved into their new condo, and pretty much did a whole lot of nothing all week. It was great. The night before last I went and had my last steak dinner at Ruth's Chris and ate so much I couldn't move! I figured it would be my last time to eat a real meal...but I didn't count on Mihwa's cooking!
I flew into Honolulu last night and Mihwa and her girlfriend picked me up from the airport and we came out to Kaneohe where she lives. We had a great night and I ended up meeting a really interesting couple from San Francisco (some of Mihwa's friends). His name is Michael Gibson and he directed a movie called "24 Hours on Craigslist". I haven't seen the movie yet, but after talking extensively with him about it last night, it sounds like a must see for anyone who has ever used craigslist. It will be out on DVD on April 1st, I recommend checking it out.

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0377029/

While we were down in Waikiki today I think it finally hit me that I am really taking off in the morning, alone. I have traveled alone before, but usually I had a plan to meet up with people. I always did the CCS trips alone, but I also knew that once I got to the country I would be living in a house with a bunch of other people. It's the not the same this time. But that is why I am so excited. I have no clue what to expect...and that's the most exciting thing about it!

Well, I better run. Talk to you all soon,

Kevin


Advertisement



10th January 2006

Good luck and have fun. You deserve it!

Tot: 0.45s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb