Mom Wants to do Laundry in Hawaii. Huh?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
October 12th 2015
Published: September 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 21.3069, -157.858

It's our second day in Honolulu and we have no plans for today. Not that there aren't things to do. It's just that Mom doesn't feel like running around today and she has her own plans. She needs to get laundry done. Now we brought seven suitcases full of clothes and the ship will wash and fold our Landry for $15. Apparently, Karen likes to do laundry and is looking forward to spending a relaxing day in Honolulu doing just that. And who wouldn't. I've figured it out. All these people we see at the airport come from all over the world bringing suitcases full of dirty clothes just so they could wash them in Hawaii. What else is there to do here?

So after a light breakfast, I work on the blog while Karen retreats to the ship laundromat. I bet it was packed in there, what with everyone trying to get at least one load done. What? No one there? Boy, you lucked out, Mom.

It's cloudy today with a little drizzle but still pleasant and warm, upper 80s. After an exciting time at the laundry, Karen meets me in the Explorer's Lounge where I've finished Saturday's entry and most of yesterday's (Sunday). She feels like a light lunch so we retreat to the Lido where I continue my writing and downloading pictures from my cameras. Her lunch consists of a big plate of raw seaweed, wasabi, raw tuna & halibut sushi, raw tuna rolls and raw clams with ginger. Me, chicken breast with green beans and a few fries. I know the danger but I like living on the edge.

Now out to the pool where Mom meets here friend, Roberta. They yak for a while while I swim and relax. We shower poolside, then head to the stateroom where we change for another fancy dinner. Tonight it's Canadian Thanksgiving with traditional fixings just like in the U.S., complete with pumpkin pie. We sit at a table with Canadians and I'm the only one eating the turkey. We excuse ourselves and leave right after dessert. The movie, "Jurassic World" is playing tonight at 8:15pm and I haven't seen it yet. I want to get a good seat.

Apparently, all these people have seen it and few are in the theater. Mom grabs a popcorn gets us prime seats and, after a 45 min wait, we watch the movie. Mom saw it with Jonathan some time ago and I find it's just OK. After the movie, it's all over for us. We have left Honolulu and are destined for Kona tomorrow, Tuesday.

Advertisement



19th October 2015

Lmao (aka laughing my ass off) Gma you look absolutely amazing in your dress and jewelry. It's a good thing you did that laundry! Lol and Papa I think they were trying to set the mood for you guys with that towel art! Hahahaha #priceless
19th October 2015

Hey, keep it clean, there are kids viewing these pictures.

Tot: 0.357s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb