The Midlife Crisis Flashpacking Trip


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
July 19th 2017
Published: July 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I've been carrying this venn diagram in my wallet...I've been carrying this venn diagram in my wallet...I've been carrying this venn diagram in my wallet...

My career has been stuck in the yellow-shaded segment for way too long. I need to move to the blue segment.

The Midlife Crisis



Calling this a Midlife Crisis might be a tad dramatic, but hey, "The Midlife Crisis Flashpacking Trip" rolls off the tongue nicely, doesn't it? I'm not really going through a midlife crisis, or at least not a stereotypical full-blown one. I have no immediate plans to trade in my trusty Prius for a newer, faster model. I'm not planning to trade in my spouse Jeff for a younger, faster model either. What is changing is that I am at a career crossroads, and I need some time to regroup and think.

Check out the photo on the right. I've been carrying this venn diagram in my wallet for the past few months. Much of my recent career has been in the area shaded yellow. I'm good at what I do, and I make a decent living out of it. But, it has been a while since I have loved doing what I do. My goal is to try and transition to the area shaded blue. I've been thinking long and hard about what I love to do, but, unfortunately, I don't think I can make a good living out of some of the things I know
Trying to Travel LightTrying to Travel LightTrying to Travel Light

My main travel bag (the black one) is a 45L Patagonia Headway MLC. I don't plan to buy anything other than maybe one ikat from Indonesia.
I love do to, or I have to start at the bottom of a new career ladder (which I am currently unwilling to do). I therefore need some time away from a work environment to think things through.

I left my job at the end of June. It was the right thing to do. It's scary not knowing what's next, but it is important to me that I take this time off.

So Where Am I Going?



Unfortunately, the first planned leg of my trip - a ten day trip to Costa Rica with Jeff and his parents - had to be canceled because I was unexpectedly scheduled for surgery to remove a lump on my neck. Fortunately, the surgery went well, and, most importantly, the lump turned out to be benign, but the recovery time didn't allow for me to take this trip. I'm bummed, of course.

Starting July 19, I'll be traveling for over two months as follows:


• First stop: Singapore with an eight hour layover in Hong Kong en route. I'm taking a very silly long route: Honolulu-Los Angeles-Hong Kong-Singapore costing $795 one-way. I paid an extra 25,000 miles and a $350 copay for a confirmed upgrade HNL-LAX-HKG. Traveling in style!
• Nine days in Singapore to decompress, enjoy big city delights (I actually miss riding on subways), celebrate my sister's birthday, eat myself silly, and attend my 30th junior college (equivalent to high school/college prep in the US) class reunion.


I'll then use Singapore as my base and hop around the region from there. Three trips are planned:


• 20 days in Indonesia. The majority of my time will be spent in Flores and Komodo National Park. I may try to go to Makassar and Tana Toraja if I have enough time, otherwise I will just chill in Bali.
• Back to Singapore for a quick weekend then ten days in Australia with a ten hour layover in Bangkok en route. The majority of my time in Australia will be spent in Adelaide visiting friends. I will also spend two days in Sydney. Then back to Singapore for five days. I found an amazing mileage redemption on Thai Airways using 70,000 United miles to fly Singapore-Bangkok-Sydney return, with BKK-SYD in First Class (on a vintage Boeing 747-400 no less) and the remaining sectors in Business Class. Don't be hating when I post my Dom Perignon and caviar pics.
• 18 days in Myanmar. I'll probably travel in an anti-clockwise loop Yangon-Inle Lake-Mandalay-Bagan-Yangon.
• Back to Singapore for five days.



In late September, I will return to Honolulu, with a three day stopover in Tokyo en route. I will return just in time for Jeff's fall break, so we may go somewhere at that time.

I would ideally like to travel for at least six months. If I don't land a job soon after my return to Honolulu, I may take off again.


Flashpacking



I'm no spring chicken. I can't travel like a 20-something backpacker anymore; I have to make certain concessions for my age. Here are some guidelines I plan to abide by:


• No chicken buses if I can help it.
• Avoid overnight buses or train rides.
• No arriving after dark in strange locales if possible.
• Stay an extra day or so if warranted. No unnecessary rushing from place to place.
• Have dramamine ready.
• Have ear plugs ready.
• Stay hydrated... but...
• Clear my bladder before any bus or train ride.
• Avoid dodgy food.
• Take care of my feet. It may seem like overkill but I'll be traveling with hiking boots, sneakers, and sandals. And good socks.
• Travel light, other than the shoes.
• A good night's sleep is worth a few extra dollars. Sure, I'll be staying at budget places, but I will avoid dorm rooms as I am a light sleeper.
• Splurge on massages when needed.
• Minimize buying. I know... very un-Singaporean. I hate shopping.


I won't be on the road constantly for the entire period; I will recuperate at my parents' condo in Singapore between trips.

FAQs




Here are some questions that my friends have asked:



Are you traveling with Jeff?

The original planned Costa Rica leg of the trip, which I had to cancel, was to be with Jeff and his parents. I will head off to Asia on my own. Jeff and I are likely to travel somewhere during his fall break in October, but nothing is concrete as yet.



Why are you traveling alone? Is your marriage in trouble?

Our marriage isn't in trouble. Jeff has been incredibly supportive. He understands that a big part of my identity is shaped by exploring, interacting, and learning, and that I have not done as much of that as I would have liked to. He also understands that I need to get away for a while.



Won't you be lonely?

I enjoy my own company.



Aren't you afraid for your safety?

I'll take appropriate precautions.



Which place are you most looking forward to visiting?

Oddly enough, it is Bangkok, even though I've lived there and I have seen all the regular tourist sights. I recently learned about a new and interesting sight off the normal tourist trail, and I plan to spend my layover exploring this little known sight. I am super excited about it. I'll even carry a selfie stick just for that excursion. Look out for my blog entry.



How much are you spending on airplane tickets?

I've booked 21 flight segments. I'm definitely flashpacking here - 14 of these segments will be in first or business class. I've spent US$2,870 and 135,000 miles so far, including taxes, fees, and upgrades. I know I will have to fly a couple of domestic flights in Indonesia and possibly Myanmar as well, so this figure will go up slightly. I could have spent less by taking low cost carriers within Asia. However, I took advantage of a fare sale - which included business class fares - by Malaysia Airlines. I also found a couple of incredible mileage redemptions. Best of all, the Malaysia Airlines flights count towards status on AAmerican.



Can you afford to not work for so long?

Yes.



So, here goes. Into the great unknown I go. Please check this page from time to time. I promise lots of interesting stories and pictures.

Advertisement



19th July 2017

Love it!
Have a great time.
20th July 2017

Bon Voyage
Look forward to your photos and reading about your adventures. Safe travels.

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb