"Skydive in Hawaii. Go do it! You won't regret it!"


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
April 11th 2012
Published: March 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

During my years working for Celebrity Cruises I was exposed to lots of adventure. I had two more weeks until I finish with my six-month contract onboard Celebrity Century. We were on our way back to Alaska after successful cruise season from Australia and New Zealand . This time the ship was cruising around the islands of Hawaii for a month.

I came here in Honolulu, Oahu ' The Big Island' for my first skydiving experience and it was worth every penny!

I was together with two friends of mine. One of the girl was from Macedonia as well. Her name is Arta and the other girl Liz was from Peru. We did make reservation online few days ago and we did agreed to wait for the Skydive Hawaii van in front of the cruise terminal around noon. I will never forget that day. It was sunny day, no clouds in the sky, perfect one for skydive jump. The ride to the skydive center took about one hour. The place was located on the beautiful North Shore of the island of Oahu. Spectacular view. As soon as we arrive there everyone there were really cool. I signed all the necessary electronic papers in case of accident and than we watched a short video before pairing up for the tandem jump and off we went.

It was so nerve racking watching the small plane take off and gain altitude to 14,000 ft.

Then when it finally came time to jump, i paused at the door to take in the situation and realized i was really jumping out of a moving plane. "On the count of three" was what my instructor told me, but he pushed me out on the first count!" 😊

It was such an adrenaline rush as we did a backflip in the air and he told me to look back at the plane while we fell backwards. When we finally righted ourselves, it barely felt like we were falling besides all the air pushing up against us. The view was soooo amazing! You can practically see the entire island on a clear day. The coolest part was falling through the cloud, it was cold until suddenly the sun was around us once again and the ground began to feel a lot closer. Finally we landed in the field right next to the runway.

It was one of the best experiences ever, and for a great affordable price. Definitely after the jump I was prepared to spend some money for photos. John was my photographer and he got some amazing shots. This was my first jump and I'm so glad I have the photos to relive it since the adrenaline and slight panic mode made the jump go by so so fast. Mike was my instructor and he was perfect and keeping me super excited but calm at the same time. My guy's instructor and photographer were awesome as well!

Definitely coming back here again 😊

Go do it! You won't regret it!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

#friends#friends
#friends

Arta on the left and Liz on the right
#flyinghigh#flyinghigh
#flyinghigh

Beautiful north shore of Oahu..

#jump#jump
#jump

I wasn't ready :)


The parachute has open and pull us both up


Applause cause I made it :)
#happy#happy
#happy

I finally touch the ground...Glad I did it! You should do it too :)


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb