Aloooooooha!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
February 8th 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Aloha from Hawai'i!

I'm here on the island of O'ahu, actually on business. I've been here for a few days now, but today is the first time I've been able to actually slow down a bit and take in some of the sights. Since I graduated from the University of Illinois I have been working for a travel agency that specializes in tours for foreign exchange high school students studying in the United States. It's business, but what better place to do business than in Hawai'i... especially if you're from Chicago!

I'm having a hard time believing I'm still in America though. Europe seemed more familiar, despite the fact that I didn't need to exchange money and there's only a slight accent here in the Islands. Riding around in our rented van on the highway is a mix of a hundred different cultures, and a hundred different years. Heading out of Waikiki to the north of the island on the very American "interstate" I passed a truck load of tan surfer-dudes hanging out of the back telling me to hang loose with their hands. I look to the right and there's nothing but the blues of blue ocean, and
Blowing in the windBlowing in the windBlowing in the wind

Honolulu, Hawaii
I can even see whales pushing water up in the far distance. I look to the left, and there are the most mystic looking, cloud-shrouded mountains I've seen in my life and suddenly I'm in ancient Polynesia. I head further north, away from the glitz and glamor of Waikiki and I'm back in a 50's surf town, complete with barefoot kids with tropical fish in buckets chasing after teenage girls and guys with surf boards. There are even a few roosters pecking through some hibiscus "weeds."

Simply put: it's amazing. I'm in awe everywhere I go. People are so friendly and the scenery complements their welcomeness. It's truly the Aloha State.

So today, my first full real day in Hawaii, I climbed up Diamond to the top of Waikiki with my 18 exchange students (who are awesome), which was a hike (the stairs!) but definitely worthy of the effort. The panorama was incredible: it was either sparkling ocean, beautiful green mountains and valleys, or beautiful Honolulu. After a relaxing lunch on the beach, it was off to Paradise Cove on the south east of the island for a luau. It definitely exceeded my expectations as far as the dance part of the show goes, and the buffet was awesome; however, the rest of the set up was fairly touristy and kind of lacking if you didn't feel like being lured into a tourist trap. At least the mai tai's were amazing.

So until next, as we say in the Islands: aloooooooooooha!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Hawaiian countrysideHawaiian countryside
Hawaiian countryside

Honolulu, Hawaii
North of Diamond HeadNorth of Diamond Head
North of Diamond Head

Honolulu, Hawaii
Diamond Head CraterDiamond Head Crater
Diamond Head Crater

Honolulu, Hawaii
HonoluluHonolulu
Honolulu

from the top of Diamond Head
Beautiful O'ahuBeautiful O'ahu
Beautiful O'ahu

Honolulu, Hawai'i
Walking down Diamond HeadWalking down Diamond Head
Walking down Diamond Head

Honolulu, Hawai'i
Hawaiian sunsetHawaiian sunset
Hawaiian sunset

O'ahu, Hawai'i
Samoan Fire DancerSamoan Fire Dancer
Samoan Fire Dancer

O'ahu, Hawai'i
Complex fire dancingComplex fire dancing
Complex fire dancing

O'ahu, Hawai'i


6th March 2010

hi
wonderful place ,this is haven

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb