*Ring Ring Ring* Hi Tyler it's your work....


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Oahu » Honolulu
September 11th 2018
Published: September 11th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast on the HoodBreakfast on the HoodBreakfast on the Hood

Spam, Scrambled Eggs, and House Fried Rice
Well about 3 days ago I got a phone call while I was on my way to a wedding..."Hi Tyler it's _____ from the RMS (Staff deployment at work) how would you like an all expense paid trip to Hawaii?"



Gee thanks...Hawaii in a hurricane, well I landed late Sunday evening, stopped at the store picked up some canned goods and went to my hotel before hooking up with some local friends for dinner. (sorry no food pics I was tired) I had Chicken Katsu and BBQ Beef Plate Lunch (Is it still a plate lunch if its dinner time?) From there my brain was like I can't handle it anymore, It was 2100 Hawaiian time and Midnight Pacific time. So I went into the hotel room, left the door unlocked and sat on the balcony for a little bit before I turned in for the night. I left the door unlocked because I was expecting a roommate, I said I went to be it was more like I went to sleep, the interesting thing about this hotel is while it is a very nice hotel that is giving us a highly reduced rate for our staff the
SunriseSunriseSunrise

This was sunrise on 9/10 I didn't get one for 9/11
bed is shorter than I am and my feet hang off the end. I got up the next morning and discovered the joys of freshly waxed marble floors as I went into grab a shower and get ready to start my day. That was when I discovered that the shower is shorter than I am as well with the shower head hitting me right below the neck.



Breakfast yesterday was from a local market down the street called Diamond Head Market Grill (Picture Attached) which consisted of House Fried Rice with Grilled Spam and scrambled eggs. It was truly one of the best breakfasts I have ever eaten perhaps because I was starving having been up since 0300 (bloody time change) and a nice glass of Plantation Tea oh and by the way most of these markets are roadside stands so I was eating it on the hood of the car.



Arrived at work yesterday and started playing catch up on paperwork and trying to figure out which way was up for the various vehicles that we have across the islands. I am the Transportation Manager on this operation which is a bit of a different role for me. I was plowing through the mountains of paperwork when my Lead walks up to me and goes we have had an accident (Seriously? It hasn't even started raining yet?). So I get on the phone with the driver and she informs me that the police are on scene and have called a tow truck company to pull her out of the ditch (WTH?) and it is being towed to a tow yard on Sand Island. Ok I will go get it out of impound and take it to the rental car agency and swap it. Here comes my first experience with life on the islands, I get there and the bill isn't ready (it's been about 4 hours at this point) and the guy at the window was eating and oh by the way its a cash only joint. Well I couldn't pull out enough cash from my company credit card so I went back to the office to finish out my reports and such for work and the night. That was when I realized I hadn't set up carpools for the folks from the office to the hotels. So I went to go use the fancy system and it didn't work I resorted to the standard sticky note system and we were off to the hotels for what is going to be the last good night's sleep for a few days.



Woke up this morning about 0500 (Better brain but still not 0600) I got up and figured out how to use this fancy coffee machine in the room and sat out on the balcony to watch the sunrise (It was red) and start writing this blog entry I am going to try to write one every night however starting tonight I will have a roomate so who knows how things are going to go from here on out. The soundtrack for the morning sunrise and blog writing was Andrea Bocelli Cinema and the birds outside my window. I guess that is all I have to write for now so I will go take a shower on my knees and get ready for breakfast and work...maybe another cup of coffee if I can figure out this infernal contraption and not spill coffee everywhere again.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb