Wailua River Excursion


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Kaua'i
February 16th 2015
Saved: December 23rd 2016
Edit Blog Post

Most of you know that I do not get along well with water. I never plan to take an ocean cruise due to the ocean's strong dislike for me. And to top it off, I get seasick and tend to turn several shades of blue or green depending on how rough the seas. So, taking a little kayak trip up the Wailua River was about the last thing on my "to do" list. So, about 90 minutes of paddling got me up the river with a paddle. We went down a very narrow tributary, where I rammed my brother's kayak, and almost sent him flying. After another 45 minutes hike through the jungle, we ended up at "Secret Falls", so secret that about 20 other tourists were in various stages of dress or undress. The water was brackish and ice cold. What possessed me to jump in and swim to the falls? I have no idea. I could not see the bottom of the pond. But once I reached the falls, the water was warm. Whodah thought? The most difficult part of the entire trip was trying to get out of the water. Finally, an old limey extended a clammy hand before I would have back flipped into about 2 feet of water. Thank you, Mr. Limey! I wanted to build a fire, but dried off and back to Kauai temperature. The hike back was quick, and enlightening. Our guide was a native Hawaiian, who was a wealth of information about the islands. He says he runs to the top of "Sleeping Giant" every day before work. Then takes two guided tours of about 4 to 5 hours a day up the river. And he walks barefoot, while we are required to wear closed toe shoes. After another 90 minutes of paddle aerobics, we made it safely back to the Wailua harbor. It turns out that many natives have not trekked to Secret Falls either. So, perhaps it was worth the tired arms, sore back, and wet shoes. But after a 25 mile morning bike ride, I was a little tired. If you want a good excursion, more natural view of the island, this is it. Just make sure you know how to paddle in tandem. I had a solo boat, but my brother and his wife almost experienced the 4 hour divorce kayak!

COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0206s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb