A Week in Kaua'i


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Hawaii » Kaua'i
November 2nd 2007
Published: November 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hotel in WaikikiHotel in WaikikiHotel in Waikiki

The view from our hotel in Waikiki
After our 3 day trip to O'Ahu for the wedding of Chris and Devi - where we also managed to hike Diamond Head - we were all set for a week of relaxation on the beautiful island of Kauai.

While our time there was not exactly what we were hoping for (rest and relaxation) pre our BIG trip, it was definitely a lot of fun and an experience I will remember.

In a few days we managed to see and do an amazing amount with activities as varied as hiking a grueling, muddy, slippery and treacherous four mile stretch of the Kalalau Trail along the picturesque Napali Coast, visiting the Waimea Canyon on a "round the island" drive, scuba diving for the first time (I'm hooked), doing a five mile kayak up the Wailua river followed by a 2 mile hike to swim in a "secret" waterfall and rounding it all off with a helicopter flight over the island allowing us to see the 80% of the island that is inaccessible by land.

As you can see from the photos, Kaua'i is an amazingly beautiful place and looks like something straight out of the "land of the dinosaurs". We had an incredible time and also found some excellent local eateries -for those traveling there anytime soon we recommend Mark's Place, Lihue BBQ Inn and Kintaro's for amazing sushi.

Well....now it's time to head home, pack and prepare to set off for our next adventure in Ecuador and the mysterious Galapagos Islands!! Talk to you then!

Dan & Janice


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

The Napali CoastThe Napali Coast
The Napali Coast

The Kalalau Trail is a 22 mile hike that is supposed to be one of the most challenging hikes in the world...and the 4 miles we did was.....
Jurassic FallsJurassic Falls
Jurassic Falls

This 300 ft waterfall appears in the opening sequence of Kaua'i Park...oops, I mean Jurassic Park
Sunset on the BeachSunset on the Beach
Sunset on the Beach

This was the sunset on our last night in Kaua'i....do I need to say more.


3rd November 2007

G'Day from Mountain View
Hi there, Just thought I'd let you know that I am visiting your old stomping ground in Mountain View. I'm here for 10 days helping out with a conference at NASA Ames. I managed to make it that great Mexican restuarant, Fiesta del Mart Too, last night. I'll keep a record of what I'm up to on my blog: http://michael.rwts.com.au. Enjoy your trip - see you in April! Cheers, Michael
3rd November 2007

Wow!
Wow! Those sunsets are amazing!
3rd November 2007

Great Photos
Looks like you too have a wonderful time. I can't wait to see the next leg of your journey. Keep save and God bless. Auntie Li
4th November 2007

Photos
Great photos! I had to rate a couple :) I was in Kauai several years ago and these so make me want to go back! Just wanted to let you know I liked your photos. Keep blogging.
4th November 2007

they are wonderful pics
looks amazing! have a great time, love renee and karl xx
5th November 2007

Beautiful Kaua'i
I've hike that same beautiful route on the Kalalau trail. Pretty slippery in spots. Did you get to the little beach with the caves? Say Hi to Charo. Wish I was there.

Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 19; qc: 87; dbt: 0.0943s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb