Antlanta, Georgia


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
February 8th 2009
Published: July 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=acwlGGe9Z5w][youtube=SqVJbA0Npdc]I began my South America vacation by flying to Atlanta. I had a ten hour layover between flights so I rented a car and drove into downtown. In was a beautiful sunny winter day, nice and warm compared to what I had left back in Indianapolis. Once in downtown I went to the top of the Westin Peachtree Hotel for a nice view of the city. It is the second-tallest all-hotel skyscraper in the Western Hemisphere at 73 stories tall. Next I had lunch and then headed out to Stone Mountain just east of the city. I rode the tramway to the top of the mountain. I walked all around the top of the mountain. I didn't realize how far I had walked down until it was time to climb back up. But it was a good workout and great fun. After a few hours in the park it was time to head back to the airport for my flight to Rio. I timed things pretty good. After getting checked in I only had to wait about 30 minutes before my plane started to board. It was a 9+ hour flight to Rio on a Delta 767-400.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

767-400767-400
767-400

Atlanta Airport


Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0266s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb