All my bags are packed, I'm ready to go...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Georgia » Atlanta
August 24th 2008
Published: August 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, here we go. I’m cheating a little because I’m still in the states, but I’m a little bit more than 24 hours away from boarding a plane headed to Dublin. I figured I’d kick this off while I still had plenty of time and enough sense to introduce this blog business.

In the past few days I’ve packed my life for the next 3 months (and some change) into one green suitcase and my L.L. Bean book bag that I’ve used since 8th grade. I’ve also passed through Greenville to drop a few things off in my apartment for the spring. My stop at Furman was like a teaser trailer for what life would have been if I were staying there for the fall term: there were a lot of dark glimpses of people I knew, where I’d be living, and many cars that had been freshly emptied of freshmen and their stuff. It’s bizarre to think about the fact that the world as I’ve known it for the past 2 years will be going on without me while I’m off on this grand adventure. After about an hour of disorienting hints at what I was leaving behind, I was off to Atlanta where I’ve been staying with family until my flight leaves tomorrow night. I would have liked to spend a couple of days at Furman, but family time is the least I can do for skipping out on Thanksgiving to travel Europe. What an ingrate…

Everyone should feel free to e-mail or Facebook me while I’m gone. I’m not sure what my internet availability will be like at some points, so I’m going to try to make keeping the blog updated a priority so that you’ll at least know where I am and what I’ve been up to. I don’t think there’s too much else to report as I haven’t gone anywhere yet, so I’ll cut this short and close with a preliminary itinerary so that you’ll all know what’s in store for the next few months. Oh… in case I haven’t made it evident, I’m kind of completely freaking out about this:

UK and Europe 2008


Basic Schedule



August 25 (Monday) Group meets at Atlanta-Hartsfield International Airport at 5 p.m. Departure on Delta flight #176 at 8:25 p.m.

August 26 (Tuesday) Arrive at Dublin at 9:25 a.m. Bus to Trinity College, Dublin

August 26-September 13 In residence at Trinity College, Dublin. Classes, visits to sites in Dublin, field trips to surrounding areas.

Sept. 13 (Sat.)-Sept. 27 (Sat.) Two-week coach (bus) tour through Northern Ireland, Scotland, and England

Sept. 27-Nov. 1 (Sat.) In residence at the Royal National Hotel, Russell Square, London. Classes, visits to sites in London and surrounding region.

Nov. 2 (Sun.) Drama in England students leave for Stratford.

Nov. 15-Nov. 30 (Sun.) All students travel in small groups to destinations of their choice.

Nov. 30 All students meet back at the Royal National Hotel, London.

Dec. 2 Group leaves from London on Delta flight # 59 at 11 a.m. Arrives Atlanta 3:40 p.m.


Advertisement



25th August 2008

the tables have turned
Now I get to read your travel blog! I'm so excited! I miss you, my dear Gima. Have a blast in the UK.

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb