April 22, 1513


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida
March 28th 2010
Published: March 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

WhirlpoolWhirlpoolWhirlpool

Painting of the currents we encountered, painted by one of the deckhands.
Entry 3

I really shouldn't be the guy to predict the weather. We hit some really rough currents on our trip up the eastern coast of Florida. Nearly toppled our ships over. They were like circular currents, constantly pulling you inward, only they were coming in every direction. A deckhand on board had some paints and drew an illistration of this so called "whirlpool":
After seeing these strong currents, Leon named the area Cape Canaveral, or Cape of Currents. Glad he didn't throw in any hebegebe magic talk into the name. You can tell I still don't believe in the whole fountain of youth thing right?
Well I have good reasons. There is no evidence to support this theory except some talk from natives. Personally, I think they overheard Leon talking about it one day and decided it would be a good way to get rid of him. I know if I were enslaved, that's all I would want to do. We ended up searching for the fountain for a couple of days. A lot of false alarms. Twice Leon thought he found it and started drinking out of the streams along with some crewmates. I don't know what was in that water, but it sure wasn't magic. Several crew members got sick after drinking the water, one even died. Kinda ironic. I'm glad I didn't jump at the chance for "eternal" life. More like eternal afterlife. Anywho we made it past the currents and made it to an island I particularry liked, for the island was surrounded by turtles. I have always been fascinated by these creatures, for the seem to be nature's pacefists. It is in this sense that I can bond with them. I am quite happ with the name Leon has given this island, for he has named it Dry Tortugas, tortugas for the turtles and dry due to the fact that there is no fresh water on the island. Many of the crew members are mad at me for liking this island, more still when I suggested we search for the fountain of youth here. Probably as good of a chance finding it here as there is anywhere else.
Leon has kept his plans reletively secret. I did manage to get some information out of our captian he said we are doubling back around and we are going to explore the west coast of Florida. Leon also plans to go inland and wants to colonize Florida. I think it has slipped everyone's mind that we are actually not where we are supposed to be. We have not found Bimini.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb