Lion Country Safari, Florida


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » West Palm Beach
September 6th 2010
Published: September 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Well, I was missing my animal friends from South Africa, so daddy decided to take me to Lion Country Safari. He had heard of it for a while, and being only 1 1/2 hours from where we live, after almost 5 years living in Miami now was the time. I had loved going on safari a little over 2 months ago in South Africa, so I thought this sounded cool. We also invited my good friend and neighbor Luna who came with her dad, Sean, and another one of my friends, Trinity.

So, we got up early on Saturday morning and drove to Lion Country Safari. We had planned to stay 2 nights at the campsite that was connected to the park. There were no cabins available, so we camped. I had loved camping with daddy in a tent in Norway 2 years ago, as well as last Thanksgiving in the Florida Keys, so I was looking forward to this. After a 90 minute drive, we checked in, and shortly after Sean arrived with Luna and Trinity. We all went in there car.

First we went on the car safari. I had soooo much fun with Luna and Trinity
Me, Daddy, and Sean on Pedal BoatMe, Daddy, and Sean on Pedal BoatMe, Daddy, and Sean on Pedal Boat

Trinity and Luna are in the back
while we looked at the animals. It definitely was not as cool as the safari in South Africa.....much less types of animals and no big surprises. The lions were also in a large gated area, so it felt like we were just driving around a zoo. One of the best parts was seeing a HUGE turtle blocking the road. Saw lots of zebra, ostriches, and some rhino as well as many impala and relatives.

Then we went to the walking safari, which was more of an amusement park/zoo.....Lots of fun stuff.....Pedal boats, miniature golf, ferris wheel. Also was able to feed giraffes and birds which both were a blast. I probably had the most fun in the splash and play running around like crazy with Luna and Trinity. It was REALLY HOT (95F)!!!! so getting wet was not only fun, but refreshing.

Later in the afternoon, Sean, Luna and Trinity went home and dropped of me and Daddy at the campsite....We put up our tent and then headed over for a BBQ that they were having at the campsite. After that we spent a couple hours in the pool. I have been taking swimming lessons, so I was
FriendsFriendsFriends

Me, Luna and Trinity on the Ferris Wheel
practicing with dad. I also met a nice girl and played with her for a while.

I was really tired, but there was something I had to do before I slept.....make smores. I have seen it on TV, people putting marshmellows over the fire, so I wanted to do it...plus I LOVE marshmellows. So daddy brought some chocolate and graham crackers as well and we had a lot of fun making them. We even made a whole bunch for a family who were camping near us. It was sooooo hot, but we were lucky as the weather reports said there was going to be thunderstorms, but it did not rain.

We woke up and shortly after heard the roars of lions, which was really cool. After a pancake breakfast, we got to the park before anyone else. Daddy let me sit in the front seat like he did in South Africa. Given the speed limit was 8 mph and there was very few cars, he felt it was safe. We saw the exact same animals as yesterday, but did see a baby giraffe drinking milk from its mom, and did see the lions being released from their smaller
Daddy Turns his Head for One MomentDaddy Turns his Head for One MomentDaddy Turns his Head for One Moment

And I get taken by a T-Rex
inclosure to their bigger one.

We then spent most of the day at the other park.....Did the whole miniature golf, fed different animals and birds, and I was chased by dad all over the splash and play. At the end of the day, we decided instead of camping another night, to just go home as it was VERY HOT and storm clouds were approaching, and being hot and wet at the camp site did not sound to good to either of us. So a short drive and we were back home in Miami.

Our next trip is not planned for sure yet, but may be going to Mexico to visit some friends......My birthplace, Italy, will hopefully be in the near future as well.




Additional photos below
Photos: 68, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Roasting MarshmellowsRoasting Marshmellows
Roasting Marshmellows

Gonna Make Some Smores
I loved them!!!I loved them!!!
I loved them!!!

My first time making smores
Luna, Trinity and MeLuna, Trinity and Me
Luna, Trinity and Me

Splash and Play
All SmilesAll Smiles
All Smiles

Feeding the Birds
Splash and PlaySplash and Play
Splash and Play

Me, Luna and Trinity
Sean is pretty GrossSean is pretty Gross
Sean is pretty Gross

Kissing/Licking a Giraffe
Uh Oh, Here Come the WaterUh Oh, Here Come the Water
Uh Oh, Here Come the Water

Me, Trinity, and Luna
Having Fun with LunaHaving Fun with Luna
Having Fun with Luna

Lion Country Safari


Tot: 0.438s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 26; qc: 129; dbt: 0.2066s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb