Tampa and home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Florida » Tampa
November 13th 2011
Published: December 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Left the luggage outside last night. Took a chance and checked the rolling carry-on filled with Lencan pottery from Honduras, wrapped in dirty clothes. Disembarked about 9:00am, the bags were there, onto the waiting bus, and to the airport for a 3 hours wait for the ATL connection to Seattle. All went well until I got home and all the pottery wan broken, one piece shattered. There was a note from the TSA saying they had inspected my luggage. Was it the ship? Was it the longshoremen? Was it the TSA, or Delta Airlines? In any case, I feel bad that I probably won't go back to Roatan or have the chance to buy Lencan pottery again. Next time I will baby it and carry on, even if the airline tries to coax me to check my bags.

Since this was my first solo cruise, let me just say that it is a wonderful way to get out and meet people from all walks of life. Only once or twice did I feel sad that I was alone, mostly on buses when everyone else came in pairs. By choosing the specialty restaurants on NCL, I was able to really relax and enjoy my meal, and it seemed the wait staff paid special attantion to me, a feeling I never got in the dining room. Also, no lines!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.047s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb